10 gal sw tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

crb530

Aquarium Advice Activist
hey every one i am new to salt water and i work at a pet store and i want to start a salt water tank i have a extra 10 gal tank and want to set it up as salt water i know it will be alot harder i know i will be doing water changes like ever week.

what i was wondering what should i put in the tank i was think ten pounds of live sad with ten pounds of small live rock

the fish i was looking to get after i cycle the tank in like one maybe to clown fish and a cleaner shrimp

what do you guys think of the idea

water changes wont be what will be difficult to you.. what you will have to be worrying with is the topoff. salinity changes with the loss of water (salinity is basicly gravity to fish) the higher it is the heavier the world is to them.

other than that.. you should have everything else you will need with the live rock and the live sand. and your tank should be able to manage a clown and a shrimp.

alright sounds good i knew that would happen with the evaperation but if i add r/o i will be fine

is there anything more i can add to the tank animal wise

yeah you could add corals in the future but let me tell you once you start getting corals that's when it get very addicting.

I was just letting you know.. that would be the only limitation to a smaller tank.. the topoff is what a lot of people dont expect to have to deal with on such a level as is required with a smaller tank.

I have to agree with top-offs. I have a 10g qt/frag tank in the basement were it's cooler than the rest of the house and I have to top it off frequently more so than my 110g tank that's in my office with no cover.

Michael
Are you running MH's? I'm curious since I haven't picked out my lights yet I would like to know what to expect with my 110g. I figure 1-3g a day.