20 g?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

briemol12

Aquarium Advice Freak
What do I need to start a 20g saltwater. I am new to this and I don't know where else to ask.
HELP!!!!
And another question: how many fish can I add?? Thanks!!

Just curious, why are you wanting to start a saltwater tank? If you are new to it, freshwater will be much easier to start. Sorry if this doesn't help.

A general rule is: one inch of fish per gallon. For a 20 gallon tank, you can have a max. of 20 inch-long fish, 10 2-inch-long fish, etc.

A general rule is: one inch of fish per gallon. For a 20 gallon tank, you can have a max. of 20 inch-long fish, 10 2-inch-long fish, etc.

That "rule" is so outdated it's not funny. Please do t offer this as advice.

Sent from my iPhone that doesn't like me. Or you !!

No bad!!!! In a 20g saltwater tank you can fit 3-4 small >3" fish. The inch per gallon rule is a horrid thing. Op are you new to fish keeping or have you had a fw tank?

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

People! People!
I need advice! On saltwater not freshwater! Why you guys have to go around the question. Just answer.
One thing I hate about the people in this blog.

Well, without knowing what you want to do with the tank I'm not sure what we can do to guide you in the right direction. Fish only tanks are quite different from reef tanks...soft coral are vastly different from SPS corals. You aren't really giving us much to work with.

In terms of fish, you should check out the 'nano section' of liveaquaria. They do a really great job with how many gallons fish need to be healthy and thrive. Once you figure out what fish you can't live without, you can build up from there in terms of what it can live with and so on.