Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-19-2004, 12:33 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: LUBB. TEXAS
Posts: 356
Adding Bio Spira

Trying my luck at salt tank for first time. Added water and salt then let sit with all equipment running for 4-5 hours. Then added sand, water is cloudy now!!

Question1:
At what point should I add the Bio Spira, when the water clears, or should I go ahead and put it in.

Question 2:
How long should I let the tank cycle with the bacteria befor adding fish. LFS said 24 hours, but you know them.

Please help a unknowing newbie. Thanx.
__________________

__________________
MYTY1705 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2004, 04:16 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 5,832
Send a message via Yahoo to quarryshark
I tried this product out in a qt tank. My experience was a negative one, it didn't work. You would be better off getting some live rock and cycling with that. There have been mixed reviews with the product you mention. 24 hours isn't realistic for a tank cycle IMO.
How big is your tank?
__________________

__________________
quarryshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2004, 04:34 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: LUBB. TEXAS
Posts: 356
I have a 65 gal. tank
emperor 400 filter
Sea Clone 100 protein skimmer
Aqua Clear 802 power head (400 gph)
200w Heater
40 watt hood lamp (probably no reef in future).

I purchased the tank at a garage sale and the hood lamp and the power head came with it. Along with other things for a fresh water tank. ($25, I thought good bargain!!)

I have no fish yet, but ideas for a schooling type tank with some lr would be appreciated. i.e. clowns or other fish that go well with them.
__________________
myty1705
Message to all aquariasts!!!!!
Anyone who lives within their means suffers from a lack of imagination.
Oscar Wilde
MYTY1705 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2004, 05:00 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 5,832
Send a message via Yahoo to quarryshark
As for the cycle, you can get a good deal at http://www.liverocks.com
Much cheaper than most lfs and from what I hear excellent rock. It will be uncured, so you can cure it yourself in your tank. This will give you an excellent cycle as well.
This would be a great start, you can look through the posts for more info on cycling.
With a 65 you have a pretty good selection of livestock to choose from.
Check out http://www.liveaquaria.com
They give you a good rundown of fish, tank size need, ease of care etc.
Have fun with it.
__________________
quarryshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2004, 05:13 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: LUBB. TEXAS
Posts: 356
how much lr does it take to cycle it? I prety much want a fish only tank. Maybe a few pieces for protection, but not 1-2 lbs per gal. Can this be done?? or am I S.O.L.
Can I use shrimp or other fish pieces for the process instead of lr?
__________________
myty1705
Message to all aquariasts!!!!!
Anyone who lives within their means suffers from a lack of imagination.
Oscar Wilde
MYTY1705 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2004, 05:26 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 5,832
Send a message via Yahoo to quarryshark
You can start out with whatever you can afford. 1 lb per gallon would be the best. You can start out with 30 lbs or so and add more "cured" rock later on. There is a raw shrimp method. I'm not familiar with the details, perhaps someone else will chime in.
__________________
quarryshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2004, 07:16 PM   #7
steve-s
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
How to cycle your tank with out the use of fish

Cheers
Steve
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bio

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bio-Spira or bio-zyme products? Chriznat20 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 35 01-23-2010 11:36 PM
NitrITE Spike AFTER adding Bio-Spira FrogFan23 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 8 09-03-2006 06:41 PM
Adding Bio spira what should I do?? (also Ph issues) exactionfigure Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 8 12-30-2005 01:15 PM
Adding a school of fish with Bio Spira Catalina Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 10-08-2003 04:56 AM
How long to wait after adding Bio-Spira? saberry Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 12 09-22-2003 10:27 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.