Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 03-11-2004, 11:47 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

Send a message via AIM to stnmtn01
Can distilled water be used as a top off?

Hey guys/gals,
My tank has been set up for about 7-8 months now and I have recently switched over from a fowlr to a reef system.(in the early stages) I have a 29g tank that I've always top off with distilled water when I had fish only. Now that I'm doing a reef setup I was curious if it was ok to use distilled water..I heard some distilled water was not ok of reef systems because of copper.. I know about ro/io purifiers, but im just a student and those things are pricey....Any suggestions..

Old 03-11-2004, 11:49 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

Send a message via AIM to stnmtn01
my bad i mean RO/DI purifier......

Old 03-11-2004, 12:22 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak

Send a message via MSN to Dewey
yep thats what i use.

Dewey
Old 03-11-2004, 04:59 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict

Thats what your LFS should be using when you buy water from them. So yep...your good!

175gallon reef

5,100 gal pond

Fish are people too!
SquishyFish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2004, 03:25 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak

I use distilled water and have never had any problems with it but I did test it for PO4 and copper first. They readings were zero.
Try to find one brand thats good and stick with that until you can afford an RO/DI...thats what im doing...hehe
Old 03-14-2004, 05:19 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist

Send a message via Yahoo to Wally