Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-05-2005, 07:51 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Fort lauderdale, FL
Posts: 102
Can i put my sump through a wall, in the garage?

i was thinking about moving my tank, to another wall in my house. Right now theres barely any working room in the stand to do stuff to the sump, i fit it in b4 the tank was on the stand, from the back. Theres no way to removed the sump, unless the tank is pulled.

I was thinking about moving it another wall, and i can run the plumbing through the wall to the other side which is my garage and have my sump in there.

any problems you think doing that? The garage isnt air conditioned, i imagine it gets around 85+ in there. I was going to have a couple fans mounted on the sump in there to keep it cool hopefully.


Also. from the overflow- it has tubing currently that the water drains into the sump.

if i made it into hardline pvc, and put and elbow to go through the wall. Do you think it will be too much restriction at all? instead of just flowing down like b4?

I really liked the idea of the garage deal, would give me total access to the sump, as well as quiet down the tank alot.

sorry for the long post tho, thanks in advance!

Jay D
__________________

__________________
55 gallon Reef now woohoo, slowly but surely
Hurricane 150 wet/dry,AquaC Urchin skimmer, 50 lbs LR, 10 lbs in sump, Odyssea 260 Watts CF

1 Blue tail Damsel(sad that he's goin back too )
1 TR Percula Clown
1 Cleaner shrimp
2 Peppermint shrimps
2 Emerald crabs(3rd went back to LFS)
10 blue legged hermits
15 astrea snails
bawla47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2005, 12:42 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: California
Posts: 414
I would think you could do it. With the fans you will get a LOT more evaporation so an auto top off will most likely be necessary. As for the 90's you should be fine but you could go to the electrical section of Home Depot/Lowes and get the grey schedule 80 conduit 90's since they are a long sweep they will not restirct the flow as much. Hope this helps.
__________________

__________________
tmcpeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2005, 01:34 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: California
Posts: 158
Garages typically hold heat better then insulated houses. Especially living in FL unless you garage is air conditioned. Also, i would suggest building a cabinet in the garage special to fit the sump ( to avoid dropping any sort of chemical or dust/debris into the sump ) It could be done. Make sure you get a strong enough return pump.
__________________
^_^
SirLight1337 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2005, 01:58 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Fort lauderdale, FL
Posts: 102
yea, being that ill have more space, im defininately going to setup and auto top off. and being in the garage, i can prob just set my ro/di system up(when i get it) to top off and turn off with a float valve.

good idea for the electrical 90. they make them curved well so wire can pass through the bends. im going to do that, or maybe a 45 degree piece and drill 1 hole lower.


I currently have a mag 7, but i think cuz theres goin to be a 1-2 more feet more, i might bump it up to a 9.5.

thanks for the posts!
JayD
__________________
55 gallon Reef now woohoo, slowly but surely
Hurricane 150 wet/dry,AquaC Urchin skimmer, 50 lbs LR, 10 lbs in sump, Odyssea 260 Watts CF

1 Blue tail Damsel(sad that he's goin back too )
1 TR Percula Clown
1 Cleaner shrimp
2 Peppermint shrimps
2 Emerald crabs(3rd went back to LFS)
10 blue legged hermits
15 astrea snails
bawla47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sump, wall

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can I put reef tank in garage? Caige Saltwater Reef Aquaria 17 09-24-2008 08:48 PM
Relocate Sump - Garage or Basement? aravindk Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 08-16-2006 03:16 PM
Pro Clear Sump - How to put heater in sump & Questions.. TheChad Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 6 04-14-2006 07:39 PM
Can I put an EV240 outside of and a few inches below my sump gsxrguru2 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 06-25-2005 11:41 AM
Whats would i need to put together a sump? eddiedellz Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 01-06-2005 11:28 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.