Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-27-2013, 12:56 AM   #21
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
SaltwaterNuB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Rocklin, ca
Posts: 791
Yeah I tried that but my dt water level is touching center glass divider. I'm going to drill holes in slotted boxes tomorrow morning. There's only about 1" of water in slotted boxes.
__________________

__________________
SaltwaterNuB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2013, 12:57 AM   #22
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
SaltwaterNuB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Rocklin, ca
Posts: 791
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel Fishy View Post
Box is about half full,flow is good and pump is wide open. Try opening your pump up and that will raise tank level which will increase flow through box.my black box(weirs) slots for water to go thru are half way under water.
Anyway you can get a shot of the inside of your boxes?
__________________

__________________
SaltwaterNuB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2013, 01:02 AM   #23
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Daniel Fishy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Jupiter Fla
Posts: 1,178
Can you lower the box any? I have my water level about 1" below top of tank you can't tell by looking at it cause the frame is there. If the siphon breaks the return will not overflow tank.
__________________
Daniel Fishy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2013, 01:04 AM   #24
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
SaltwaterNuB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Rocklin, ca
Posts: 791
I can't lower box unless I drill new holes. There's not a sliding adjuster nut. It won't be a problem for me to drill 1/8" holes about and 1/8-1/4 inch below slots.
__________________
SaltwaterNuB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2013, 01:17 AM   #25
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Daniel Fishy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Jupiter Fla
Posts: 1,178
Ok mine has the slots to adjust the height. With you lowering should allow more water in and will let you turn your pump up.any elbows in your PVC for overflow or are you using the flex pipe?
__________________
Daniel Fishy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2013, 01:25 AM   #26
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
SaltwaterNuB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Rocklin, ca
Posts: 791
I used PVC for 3 days then switched to flex. I do have 1 elbow in each intake like going into filter sock.
__________________

__________________
SaltwaterNuB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bala, pump, sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.