Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-16-2012, 12:49 PM   #1
Dividing by 0
Community Admin
 
fort384's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 13,926
Carbon & GFO Reactor - Yes or No?

I have been reading up this morning on carbon and GFO reactors. Is it worth it? Will it help my system? I have had a ton of issues with coral, detailed in this thread:
I am Slowly Murdering my Coral

Many folks have recommended I run carbon. Is the cost of the reactor worth the extra contact with carbon, as opposed to just running a bag of carbon between the baffles in the sump?


I was looking at purchasing a BRS Carbon/GFO reactor and a Cobalt MJ1200 to run it.

Does anyone else run this reactor, or a carbon reactor in general?

Thanks for any insight or advice you can provide!
__________________

fort384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 09:41 PM   #2
Dividing by 0
Community Admin
 
fort384's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 13,926
There must be someone here who is running a carbon a/o GFO reactor. I am going to get in on a BRS group buy this coming week. Anyone have an opinion on these 1 way or the other?
__________________

fort384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 09:53 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mrc8858's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 5,834
I'm running this same reactor with carbon which has given me a little better water quality but I do use phosgaurd periodically when my phosphates start to rise. If you have the room and a little extra money I'd say get it.
__________________
Mrc8858 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 09:56 PM   #4
Dividing by 0
Community Admin
 
fort384's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 13,926
I think I can squeeze it in under the tank. I don't have a ton of room, but it ought to fit.

My PO4 continually tests at 0, so I don't think I will run anything in it but carbon for now, if I do get it.

I am just trying to figure out if this is a "nice to have" or if it is actually a good investment. How much better is it than just running a filter bag in the sump between the baffles?
fort384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 08:17 AM   #5
SW 20 & Over Club
 
ccCapt's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northeast PA
Posts: 5,362
Send a message via ICQ to ccCapt
I run ROX 0.8 carbon in a reactor. Carbon performs much better in a reactor since the water has to flow through it. In a mesh bag, the water can flow around it.
__________________
/Larry
125g reef
See My Tank Info
Check out The build project
ccCapt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 09:03 AM   #6
Dividing by 0
Community Admin
 
fort384's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 13,926
Thanks Larry.

Do you continually run it and how often do you change the media?
fort384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 03:38 PM   #7
SW 20 & Over Club
 
ccCapt's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northeast PA
Posts: 5,362
Send a message via ICQ to ccCapt
Yes, I always run it and change it every month. I use 12 tablespoons for my 125g tank.
__________________
/Larry
125g reef
See My Tank Info
Check out The build project
ccCapt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 10:15 PM   #8
Dividing by 0
Community Admin
 
fort384's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 13,926
Alright, I ordered a single reactor, and a gallon of ROX 0.8.
fort384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 10:24 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Flaxon-Waxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 2,788
If its not too late, I would order the double, if you have room... It's a small price difference and will make it much easier for you in the future. For example, if you do want to run more than 1 media, say GFO and carbon, it is a pain to run them both in one cylinder, and if you need to change one, it will be very messy/near impossible... Carbon, for example, will run with results for 2-3 weeks, but GFO will run for longer. So if you have a dual, you would only have to change out 1, instead of needing to attempt to remove 1 of the media.
__________________
Flaxon-Waxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 10:34 PM   #10
Dividing by 0
Community Admin
 
fort384's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 13,926
It looks like the BRS model is simple enough to run GFO and carbon... but I have never detected anymore than about 0.05ppm PO4 in my system so I don't really intend to ever have to run GFO in it. Space it as a premium in the cabinet under the tank, so 1 it is.

I appreciate the advice though - I can see how it would be much easier and much more economical to run a dual if I needed to run GFO.
__________________

fort384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
carbon, reactor

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.