Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 09-27-2010, 02:15 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie

College Tank

hey guys, new to the forum. im a marine bio student and am looking to start my first sw tank. i have had various fw tanks, 4 red ear sliders in a 75g going on 11 years, and tons of frogs. basically what im thinking is getting one of those biocubes (idk if they are corning or cheap or not, but they seem like the perfect thing for someone in my position) and doing a fish only/fish & live rock set up. i dont want many fish, maybe a clown or two to start then move on to something else, but i want to keep it a low # of fish, was also thinkin of a feather duster or two. i guess what im asking is a) your opinion on a Biocube (or something similiar) 14/29g with a few fish/feather dusters/inverts and b) if yall think this is even possible for a student or am i just dreaming. i have a job and get paid daily, so i guess im asking what yall think it costs on average, not including tank costs etc and fish, to upkeep. thanks for the help in advance guys, everything i have read here so far has been nothing but helpfull.

-Matt

Old 09-27-2010, 03:18 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Newbie

also, say if i did the 29g, would it be possible to do just one dwarf lion fish? what is the smallest tank they can be in?

Old 09-27-2010, 03:54 AM   #3
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin

Tank of the Month Award

Dwarf/Zebra Lionfish

Most places say 30 gallons so I would imagine a 29 would be OK. Never had one to give you any experience but you should be OK.

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank

AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote