Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-25-2005, 12:10 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 90
Send a message via AIM to LIMentality420 Send a message via Yahoo to LIMentality420
cycle tank without the use of fish ?

Has anyone tried to cycle there tank with the grocery store trick ? Putting 1 to 3 shrimp from a grocery or seafood store in your tank and letting it give bacteria to your tank. I think i might try this when i set my tank up. If anyone tried this please leave some results...
__________________

__________________
55 gal. 15 lbs. LR 15 lbs. BR, 1 Percula Clown, 2 Marginated Damsel, 1 2 inch Niger Trigger, 1 Coral Beauty, 2 Yellowtail Damsels, 2 common Hermit Crabs, 5 Turbo Snails
1.2 Crested Geckos
1.1 Corn Snakes
0.1 Flying Gecko
LIMentality420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2005, 12:12 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Apalachin, NY
Posts: 327
Re: cycle tank without the use of fish ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by LIMentality420
Has anyone tried to cycle there tank with the grocery store trick ? Putting 1 to 3 shrimp from a grocery or seafood store in your tank and letting it give bacteria to your tank. I think i might try this when i set my tank up. If anyone tried this please leave some results...
A frequently discussed topic here at AA. Try a search for more info & check this out:

http://www.aquariumadvice.com/showqu...q=2&fldAuto=15

Most people here recommend this method as it is effective and more humane than forcing fish to live through the toxic cycling process. It worked great for me. Use raw shrimp.
__________________

__________________
copi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2005, 12:14 AM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 5,833
Send a message via Yahoo to quarryshark
Yup, fishless is the way to go.
1-2 shrimp should do it for a 55.
__________________
quarryshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2005, 12:14 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 90
Send a message via AIM to LIMentality420 Send a message via Yahoo to LIMentality420
Thanks, I went there before I posted this. I was courious of anyone elses results from trying this. What tempature should the water be when I do this ?
__________________
55 gal. 15 lbs. LR 15 lbs. BR, 1 Percula Clown, 2 Marginated Damsel, 1 2 inch Niger Trigger, 1 Coral Beauty, 2 Yellowtail Damsels, 2 common Hermit Crabs, 5 Turbo Snails
1.2 Crested Geckos
1.1 Corn Snakes
0.1 Flying Gecko
LIMentality420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2005, 12:48 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 200
Send a message via AIM to Morticus
Ah, another herper turned salty. Good luck.
__________________
55g cycled. 15g sump, refugium, lr rubble, mag 7, Maxi-Jet 1200. 36lbs hirocks.com, 20# keys 20# gulf lr.com to arrive on Wensday!

1.0 Albino Burmese Python
0.1 California Kingsnake
0.1 Ball Python
0.1 Amelystic Corn Snake
Morticus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2005, 08:43 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Round Rock, TX
Posts: 300
We are just finishing up cycling with 2 shrimp in a 55. It has worked very well for us. Everything is at 0 except nitrates at 20. We started about 2 weeks ago so we're very happy with the fishless method.
__________________
demodiki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2005, 10:18 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Orleans La
Posts: 39
I just started the fishless cycle on my tank. so far everything looks good.
__________________
huey112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2005, 05:53 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 90
Send a message via AIM to LIMentality420 Send a message via Yahoo to LIMentality420
Thanks for the help...
__________________
55 gal. 15 lbs. LR 15 lbs. BR, 1 Percula Clown, 2 Marginated Damsel, 1 2 inch Niger Trigger, 1 Coral Beauty, 2 Yellowtail Damsels, 2 common Hermit Crabs, 5 Turbo Snails
1.2 Crested Geckos
1.1 Corn Snakes
0.1 Flying Gecko
LIMentality420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2005, 10:47 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Columbia Maryland
Posts: 64
Send a message via AIM to 4inchSandBed
im about a week into my fishless cycle with 2 shrimps and everything looks GREAT
__________________
4inchSandBed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2005, 06:16 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 90
Send a message via AIM to LIMentality420 Send a message via Yahoo to LIMentality420
Do I take the shell off the shrimp ? Do I run the filter while I do this or just powerheads ?
__________________
55 gal. 15 lbs. LR 15 lbs. BR, 1 Percula Clown, 2 Marginated Damsel, 1 2 inch Niger Trigger, 1 Coral Beauty, 2 Yellowtail Damsels, 2 common Hermit Crabs, 5 Turbo Snails
1.2 Crested Geckos
1.1 Corn Snakes
0.1 Flying Gecko
LIMentality420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2005, 11:55 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Round Rock, TX
Posts: 300
We bought some raw shrimp for stir fry that was already deveined and deshelled. We ran ours with everything on....HOB and PH....
__________________
demodiki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2005, 02:29 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Boston MA
Posts: 75
A couple newb questions: What is the purpose of using 2 shrimp vs 1? Any evidence that 1 shrimp is insufficient for >Xg tank? It seems to me unless you add a large number of fish right after the cycle (which is probably a bad idea in general, better to add slowly), part of the bacteria pop from even 1 shrimp's worth of waste will die back once you begin adding fish. I guess it depends on how much you plan on feeding your tank, predator vs non-predator tank, etc.

Second, thanks to advice on a couple other threads, the use of LR and LS means an additional cycle with shrimp is unnecessary. Uncured LR will give you enough waste to get your tank started (using only cured LR and you may have a working filter going off the bat without ever seeing a cycle). Again, as long as you add fish slowly, you should be fine. Opinions?

My newb understanding of all this is that tanks aren't really cycled or uncycled. Rather, a new tank is sterile - with denitrifying bacteria absent from your filtering media, and non-sterile - bacteria are present. The actual population size of this bacteria depends on the ammonia input to the system. While it can take weeks for sterile media to begin getting populated, the bacteria population will also take some time, albeit shorter, to respond to increasing ammonia input. This is why you might see a mini-cycle in a supposedly "cycled" tank when you add livestock (more correctly, add more food to feed the greater amount of livestock). Thus, the main point of adding shrimp is to provide an ammonia source during the relatively long period of bacteria immigration. Using live rock, you already have the bacteria population, and thus no need to provide an additional ammonia source of dead shrimp.
__________________

__________________
75 gal SeaClear System II wet/dry filter
4 Harlequin Rasbora
3 Clown Loach
2 Pearl Gourami (m/f)
2 Siamese Algae Eaters
Rotala,Vallis,Crypt,Ambulia,Watersprite
Physa and Malaysian Trumpet snails
Biotoper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycle, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
55 Gallon Tank Cycle w/ Fish 919 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 40 12-13-2008 06:36 PM
Can I cycle a tank with fish food? MurfQ Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 14 08-24-2006 04:36 PM
Using fish to cycle a tank. Cinder Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 17 07-01-2006 11:49 AM
How to cycle your tank with out the use of fish. Brenden Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 05-18-2005 08:31 PM
How to cycle your tank with out the use of fish. fishfreek Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 0 06-14-2002 12:21 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×