Filter Help Please.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Jack22

Aquarium Advice Regular
I'm just getting started. I have a 55 gallon tank and I'm in the process of building a custom stand. Between books, Internet, and talking to 3 different LFS guys at 2 different shops I've got an overwhelming amount of information on which filters to use.

What is the best type of filtration to use? Do I have to have a protein skimmer to start or can I add it to my setup later? What exactly are uv sterilizers and reactors? Are they necessary?

I appreciate any help you can provide.

A skimmer is essential to have on a 55 especially if it's your first saltwater tank. You can get it later if you must, but it's not something I wouldn't put off for to long. Make it a priority.

A UV sterilizer is completely optional. Most people never use them. I wouldn't take one if it was offered for free to use for anything but freshwater or quarantine though some people love em.

There are lots of different types of reactors. GFO and calcium reactors are the most common and are very useful but you can live without them. I like GFO reactors myself but you can wait and read up on them.

Depending of what you plan on doing with your tank these guidelines could change (ie. reef, fish only, FOWLR, seahorse tank etc..). What kind of system do you plan on having?