Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
Old 07-08-2012, 06:30 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: NC
Posts: 52
finally got my SW tank set up

My friend finally brought over the SW tank she is selling us and we are eager to get it set up and cycling. Only problem is that we do not have a large enough container to mix the whole 65 gallons of water. We have four 5 gal buckets.

So, how can we do this? I found vids on youtube that said to let the water mix with a powerhead overnight, so that brings us down to just one 5 gal bucket at a time!

My question is, can we just mix up the water and place it in the tank with the powerhead? There won't be any fish for a good 6 or so weeks or however long it takes to cycle.

I am concerned about the little bit of water in the tank now going stagnate and the bacteria we have dying off. It will be next week before we can get a big, 55 gal can.

55 gal with betta, mollies, plattys, neons, danos, and other assorted fishies.
nibor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2012, 06:54 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
Join Date: May 2011
Location: mason City, iowa
Posts: 552
Yes, I think that would be fine to mix your salt in each bucket then add your powerhead to the tank. Stir the crap out of each bucket before adding to tank!

ocean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2012, 08:13 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
ML42's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Laguna Beach
Posts: 46
hey send me a message to my inbox and I will detail how I started my 65+ tank, its just to long for a post.
ML42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2012, 10:12 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Knoxville TN
Posts: 227
I'd suggest going to home depot and picking up a 40 gallon brute trash can. Clean it well when you get home then you can store/mix water in it. How are you going to do a large water change with out one?
shady3210 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 12:07 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Iowa
Posts: 198
Since you are just starting it that won't be a problem. For our water changes:
We have an RO/DI which goes into a large trash can (clean very well, without any chemicals) when it is full mix 5 gallons at a time and put it into our 20. Turn on the power heads, heater and filter (to get out any debris). Let that sit for about 24 hours and do our water changes. 20 gallons isn't enough for all our tanks so we have spaced them out a few days. Eventually we will up grade to a bigger tank for water changes good luck!
lovefishys is offline   Reply With Quote

set up, tan, tank, tank set up

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

» Photo Contest Winners

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:26 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.