First DIY sump/fuge

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

epaz

Aquarium Advice Activist
img_2868931_0_1aa23752f2ba7a47c66e11fafee4dfae.jpg
[/URL][/IMG]

Guys this is my first attempt at my own fuge/sump please critique as to whatever I haven't done right. The issue Im having is that I have to choke both my overflow and return way back so I have hardly any water movement. If I speed up the overflow it overflows my baffles if I choke back my return then it will overflow eventually. I have been experimenting for over a week now with no positive results. Each baffle pictured is 6" and the two that make up my middle section are 1" off the bottom. So what did I do wrong? Please I wont have hurt feelings I just want to make it right. Sorry if I did not do the picture right its only my 2nd time posting a picture on here.

Thanks

Post another picture. the first one didn't come through. What size sump is this and what size return pump are you using?

I'm not at my computer now but I will try that's wierd it comes through on my phone. It's a 30g standard tank and my return is a Rio 700 gph

I see it. You really don't need a bubble trap after the skimmer. The first partition is enough, then It looks like you are emptying the skimmer into the fuge area, correct? Put that pipe back where the skimmer is.
The third partition (the one after the refugium) will dictate the water height in there, and then the water should be going down under the last partition that is about 1" away and 1" above the one before it. A third low partition is sometimes used, but i don't find it necessary. See if any of that cures the problem.

Last edited: