Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-20-2010, 11:26 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: mississippi
Posts: 18
cant really aford 100 or 100 lbs of live rock how bout the base rock and let it sit in my tank for a while and a good filter till i can afford the good live rock
__________________

__________________
smithj156 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2010, 11:51 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 332
u can use base rock and put some LR top of it...after a while, i will be 'live'....but i dunno how much base rock can be use together with LR.....maybe 50-50.....
__________________

__________________
abdhalim2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2010, 01:09 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
atte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 133
I think you can start with all base rock during your cycle if you really wanted to. People generally use live rock to seed beneficial creatures like snails, coralline algae, etc. As long as a bacterial population becomes established on the rock, it is classified as "live". I would go with a few good chunks of live rock and base rock for the rest of it if you're looking to save on costs.
__________________
3g Betta cube
29g FOWLR (No longer up)
atte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2010, 09:17 AM   #14
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
LIVE rock just means it is housing beneficial bacteria. So yes, base rock will become LR over time (cycling). It's best to add some LR to start the Coraline algae and hopefully some good hitchhikers, but it's not necessary.
cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2010, 09:10 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: mississippi
Posts: 18
heres a few pics of what i got as you can see it was a salt water set up befor i think a reef tank what is the lil black box in the corner.. also are those just pumps do i need 3 for this tank if u could exsplain what the clear tube is.. sorry im just tryin to see what i got.. i got all u see and a heater and the stand for $100 i thought it was a good deal please let me know what you think
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG0268.jpg
Views:	55
Size:	199.9 KB
ID:	26531   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG0270.jpg
Views:	48
Size:	197.0 KB
ID:	26532  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG0273.jpg
Views:	46
Size:	194.0 KB
ID:	26533  
__________________
smithj156 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2010, 09:15 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: mississippi
Posts: 18
heres a few more pics thanks for any input bad or good wont hurt my feelings.. havent set it up because its going where our chrimas tree is now.. i cant waitt to set it up always wanted a saltwater tank
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG0269.jpg
Views:	47
Size:	199.8 KB
ID:	26534   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG0271.jpg
Views:	40
Size:	193.2 KB
ID:	26535  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG0274.jpg
Views:	42
Size:	179.6 KB
ID:	26536  
__________________
smithj156 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2010, 11:02 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 332
for the clear tube,its more like for skimmer but i dont know what type of skimmer...there got small tube for oxygen to mix with water thus give some bubbles for skimmer to operate...IMO
__________________
abdhalim2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2010, 11:08 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: mississippi
Posts: 18
what are the lil black boxes. everything is from germany so plugs need a converter..my wife got it from someone on base she in the milatry
__________________
smithj156 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2010, 11:14 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 332
is the lil black boxes at the corner of the tank..??? and have some drilled hole under it..?? if so, its for overflow system which goes to sump....
__________________
abdhalim2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2010, 11:19 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: mississippi
Posts: 18
no just one hole in the side and some vent holes in the top.. what are the lil black pump looking thing do i need that many for this tank
__________________

__________________
smithj156 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
salt, salt water, salt water tank, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
10 gallon Salt water tank 1st time lanceuppercut Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 1 03-01-2010 11:10 PM
salt water to fresh water tank? rob28 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 10 11-15-2008 08:36 PM
Prepared salt water time adacaro Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 1 01-19-2006 05:23 PM
OK, I am thinking it is time for a salt tank... WarDaddy Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 6 01-25-2005 03:27 PM
putting salt into tank- time before i test it ,to add more? boggerscott Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 02-03-2004 09:40 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.