Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 10-08-2004, 12:12 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak

fish scraping on rocks, no white spots - ick?

I am new to SW. I have a 29 gal with a few damsels that has not yet cycled. The fish have recently started scraping themselves on the tank decorations. In my reading it seems that this is a sign of parasites, but I see no white spots like in the photos of ick. Two of the fish have seem to lost some color since being added to the tank -- they're not quite as bright.

Is this ick considering the lack of spots? Do the fish require treatment?

Everything I read seems to contradict everything else -- I am new to this and it is all very confusing to me with each source recommending a different solution.

Thanks in advance.

Old 10-08-2004, 12:17 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus

Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
SOunds like your cycling the tank with fish. This will put a higher stress load on the fish and make it succeptable to multiple parasites and issues.

What are your water quality levels? IE ammonia, nitrite, nitrate.

Do you have makeup water ready to do a water change if you have high levels of ammonia or nitrite?

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2004, 12:29 PM   #3
AA Team Emeritus

I had fish flashing (scraping on rocks) w/no visible signs of parasite. It was marine velvet/oodinium, a parasite similar to ick that starts internally on SW fish. If its that, quick action is needed. Poor water quality was the cause of mine.