fish scraping on rocks, no white spots - ick?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

copi

Aquarium Advice Freak
I am new to SW. I have a 29 gal with a few damsels that has not yet cycled. The fish have recently started scraping themselves on the tank decorations. In my reading it seems that this is a sign of parasites, but I see no white spots like in the photos of ick. Two of the fish have seem to lost some color since being added to the tank -- they're not quite as bright.

Is this ick considering the lack of spots? Do the fish require treatment?

Everything I read seems to contradict everything else -- I am new to this and it is all very confusing to me with each source recommending a different solution.

Thanks in advance.

SOunds like your cycling the tank with fish. This will put a higher stress load on the fish and make it succeptable to multiple parasites and issues.

What are your water quality levels? IE ammonia, nitrite, nitrate.

Do you have makeup water ready to do a water change if you have high levels of ammonia or nitrite?

I had fish flashing (scraping on rocks) w/no visible signs of parasite. It was marine velvet/oodinium, a parasite similar to ick that starts internally on SW fish. If its that, quick action is needed. Poor water quality was the cause of mine.

Like fishfreek said, check yur water levels immediately and monitor them constantly since it does sound like you're cycling with fish. How many damsels by the way?

Another question - what are your ultimate goals on inhabitants? Lots of damsels get pretty mean with others and don't play nice. You sure you want to keep them?

more info