Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-16-2012, 02:23 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 183
Fowlr

Hi everyone was wondering since my planning and when plan to setting up my tank, do I have to wait to start with clown fish tangs. Do I start with damsels or chromis can I setup a refugium my plan is micro algae refugium, I want to setup once but right still planning slow reading book the reef aquarium volume 3. Something interesting I read said minimum size tank for tang is 100 gallon won't it be stressful to them length of tank I think a 100g doesn't come in 72 inches can I be wrong still planning on 150 gallon tank, was wondering your opinion advice suggestion these questions thanks.
__________________

__________________
solo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2012, 11:25 AM   #2
Dividing by 0
Community Admin
 
fort384's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 13,926
I added a pair of P Clowns as my first fish - but I cycled my tank first using raw shrimp from the butcher and a few pieces of LR from the LFS. If the tank is cycled, you can add them first with no problems. If you add damsels, and then want to add other fish down the road, it can be difficult to catch damsels without tearing up the tank.

You can setup a refugium. Are you planning a sump for the tank or just a HOB refugium? You want to grow MACRO algae, not micro. I grow chaeto in mine and it works like a champ - my nitrates have never been detectable.

As far as tangs, there are species that are suitable for tanks of less than 100 gallons. Most species do need quite a bit of room as they get big and are active fish. With a 150, you will be fine to house several varieties of Tangs, and probably will be fine with mixing a few different species in the tank. Just research and plan ahead - don't go to the LFS and buy fish, and THEN research their temperament, requirements, etc.

Good Luck!
__________________

fort384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 02:31 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 183
Fort384 I'm planning on a 150 gallon tank refugium macro algae chaeto was one that I was thinking of growing. I ask if I setup tank for reef setup can I add corals right after fish, I want setup tank once but right with good equipment also. Are chromis hard to catch like damsels that I hear of. I not shore if it's to fast to add croaks I know tank must cycle first that's why I'm planning and taking it slow. Still slow on fish list love tanga but want others I was told go to liveaquaria for fish compatabilty , just I was wondering for die with years with hobby advice cause I want tank to be ready for corals have lighting everything needed for reef setup thanks.
__________________
solo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 02:41 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 183
Hi again can I do a fowlr for a while. Then add corals invertebrate, buy lighting for when I add corals exctra or can I have lighting setup already. Comments advice please
__________________
solo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 05:27 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ktomminello's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Southern Maine
Posts: 1,227
Yes, you can slowly turn your FOWLR into a reef tank, just make sure your fish are reef safe
ktomminello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 03:09 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 183
Thanks everyone, and do you need a powerheads for a fowlr tank I want to do a mixed reef after I get used to fowlr for a while any advice will be appreciated.
__________________
solo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 03:18 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Beengirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,308
Quote:
Originally Posted by solo View Post
Thanks everyone, and do you need a powerheads for a fowlr tank I want to do a mixed reef after I get used to fowlr for a while any advice will be appreciated.
Yes. You'll need PHs. Fr a FOWLR you'll need 10-30x turnover rate, so not as much as a reef.
__________________
Beengirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 12:55 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 183
Beengirl I don't understand what you explaining phs, fri get advice about powerhead
__________________
solo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 02:56 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Beengirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,308
You'll need powerheads. For FOWLR you'll need 10-30x per hour turnover, including all your pumps, filter, phs. So for a 100g, you'd want 1000-3000gph turnover rate. For reef it's 30-50x per hour.
__________________

__________________
Beengirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fowlr

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.