Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-26-2011, 08:09 PM   #121
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
coffeetwitch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: springfield mo
Posts: 3,690
Quote:
Originally Posted by Unicorn View Post
Considering what you have vs what you need,

im good at making scraps work:

brand new in 81


30 years latter
__________________

__________________
coffeetwitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2011, 08:12 PM   #122
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
huma-huma's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: washington Pa
Posts: 5,257
Yeah 55s arent the best for surface area, and I didnt even think of the needed room in case of a power outage
__________________

__________________
my 125g Sw...Round 2!http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...220171-33.html
ever see someone cut a 125g in half??
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...-286438-4.html
huma-huma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2011, 08:27 PM   #123
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
coffeetwitch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: springfield mo
Posts: 3,690
so ill cut my 55 down to 14 tall. that will give me about 11 inches of empty space to clear everything. also assuming that a common skimmer i will get will have a average footprint of 11x8 and the pump will be 6" wide after baffles i will still have a ~30" long space for the fuge. run my water level at 10 inches so when power goes out. ill have 10 gallons worth of space before my floor gets wet.
__________________
coffeetwitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2011, 09:16 PM   #124
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Unicorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: FL
Posts: 787
Quote:
Originally Posted by coffeetwitch
so ill cut my 55 down to 14 tall. that will give me about 11 inches of empty space to clear everything. also assuming that a common skimmer i will get will have a average footprint of 11x8 and the pump will be 6" wide after baffles i will still have a ~30" long space for the fuge. run my water level at 10 inches so when power goes out. ill have 10 gallons worth of space before my floor gets wet.
14? My sump is 20g high... Maybe if u wait I can do some measuring and testing tomorrow and let u know how high I have my water and how high it climbs when I turn everything off... But I have different measurements anyways... That's a tough one...
How high is it now and how high are u planning on putting the water?
__________________
30g SW reef (moving)
120g SW reef (55g sump)
ignore my spelling! I'm a science major, not an English major
Unicorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2011, 09:19 PM   #125
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
huma-huma's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: washington Pa
Posts: 5,257
Hes talking about taking the top trim of his 55 and cutting it so that the tank only stands 14"
__________________
my 125g Sw...Round 2!http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...220171-33.html
ever see someone cut a 125g in half??
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...-286438-4.html
huma-huma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2011, 09:21 PM   #126
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
coffeetwitch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: springfield mo
Posts: 3,690
Quote:
Originally Posted by huma-huma View Post
Hes talking about taking the top trim of his 55 and cutting it so that the tank only stands 14"
+1 internets for huma-huma
__________________
coffeetwitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2011, 09:29 PM   #127
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
coffeetwitch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: springfield mo
Posts: 3,690
Quote:
Originally Posted by Unicorn View Post
14? My sump is 20g high... Maybe if u wait I can do some measuring and testing tomorrow and let u know how high I have my water and how high it climbs when I turn everything off... But I have different measurements anyways... That's a tough one...
How high is it now and how high are u planning on putting the water?

i can wait for measurements. your sump looked huge in the pictures. huma-huma got it. i was planing on making the sump 14" tall and run the water level around 10" high. <---- average max water depth for an in sump skimmer.

again if my math is right, should my planed set up loose power, the dt water level can fall ~3 inches before it will overflow the sump.
__________________
coffeetwitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2011, 09:34 PM   #128
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
coffeetwitch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: springfield mo
Posts: 3,690
oh and the part of your question i missed: currently it stands 21 inches tall.
__________________
coffeetwitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2011, 09:36 PM   #129
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
huma-huma's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: washington Pa
Posts: 5,257
And I dont see it even falling that far, you can control that with the positioning of the inlet/outlet pipes in the dt. For instance, my 125 has 2 returns with 2 nozzles each, I leave one nozzle on each side halfway above water, if in the event of failure , it acts as a natural syphon break.. Just one way to easily control back syphon, overflows dont usually hold enough to flood sumps,granted they are set right
__________________
my 125g Sw...Round 2!http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...220171-33.html
ever see someone cut a 125g in half??
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...-286438-4.html
huma-huma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2011, 09:47 PM   #130
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
coffeetwitch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: springfield mo
Posts: 3,690
i think i actually under stood that. so hypothetically if i had this CPR CS90 SIPHON AQUARIUM OVERFLOW BOX by CPR Aquatic - AquaCave
on my tank, i can adj the level of the box itself, so that it runs out of water that can overflow into it , higher than 3 inches down.
__________________

__________________
coffeetwitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
5 gallon, 75 gallon, freshwater, reef, salt, saltwater, saltwater reef

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
can nerite snails switch from saltwater to freshwater? maxwellag Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 07-01-2012 09:51 AM
Article: What You Should Know About Fish Nutrition Fishguy2727 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 14 02-01-2012 09:41 AM
I was wondering if I could increase the number of fish in my 26 gallon tank SteveFishman Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 08-09-2011 11:51 PM
What are your thoughts on Petco selling Saltwater fish?? gwolfe Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 15 06-29-2011 02:43 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.