Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-06-2011, 01:50 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 8
Height of overflow? HELP HELP!!!

I have just successfully setup my new 155 gallon tank. Pump is fine, drilled small holes in return lines to break siphon, ball valve on the drain line to control flow to the sump,....thought I had it all covered.

I need help with one last thing....

How high in the overflow "column" should the drain pipes be? Should they be significantly below the water line (seems quieter this way)? Or should they be just below the water line?

When I simulate a power outage, the sump fills up wayyy to full for my taste. It does not overflow but, about another 1/2 inch, and it would.

Seems like if I raise the drain pipes up closer to the water line, less water from the overflow column would drain to the sump. Make sense or am I missing the boat?

My drain pipe originates from the bottom of the tank(in the overflow column) from pre-drilled holes, on each rear corner.

My drain pipe is now about 6 inches or so from the water line....should this be raised up?

My main concern is the amount of water collected in the sump upon power outage.

HELP!!!
__________________

__________________
Peoplepc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 02:09 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
francis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: California
Posts: 375
ummm, you could always take some water out of the sump. Nobody runs there tank at full height

also, i don't understand what you mean by the overflow column means. You mean your overflow pipe thats inside the display tank is 6 inches under the water line? I think thats too low, my diy overflow pipe makes it so the water line should be equal to wherever your draining pipe is. Please clarify if this doesnt make any sense though
__________________

__________________
francis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 04:00 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
you don't want a ball valve on the drains to control flow to the sump. all that will do is overflow the display. you control flow to the sump by putting a ball valve after the return pump.

yes, the dursos should be just below the water line inside the overflow.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 08:13 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 63
You could raise the return line so less would flow back in the sump. But, as long as it doesn't over flow I would't worry about it.
__________________
Kmurraylhs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 11:01 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 8
Ok, thank you very much. I raised the drain up a little and it seemed to help with the volume of water that reaches the sump upon power outage. Seems strange the sump runs with the water level just above the pump when all is running well. Seems kind of shallow to me but it seems to be working great at the present time. Upon power outage, the sump fills up to about 90 percent capacity then abruptly stops. Guess that is the goal. Thanks again for all your input.
__________________
Peoplepc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2011, 07:55 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
you don't have enough water in the sump then. evaporation will expose the pump on a short time. if you plan to keep it like this you should get an auto top-off.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2011, 11:48 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
cabezon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Tampa FL
Posts: 1,010
The water that returns to the sump would be the water after the pump in the return lines, the water in the display tank that is above the overflow level, and whatever is in the drain that hasn't drained yet; this should be minimal unless...

How long and thick are your returns? Are you using 10' of 1" PVC? How big is your sump? I have a 55 under my 125 and it doesn't rise more than 6". Do you have a small sump?
__________________

__________________
Fishless cycling
cabezon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
flow, overflow

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tank at a height RoscoPeeko General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 08-05-2011 12:12 PM
Eshopps PF Nano Overflow nuwave59 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 0 08-02-2011 02:44 PM
Need help with pvc overflow! slitherbomb General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 13 07-30-2011 12:02 PM
Help! Please show your DIY PVC Overflow francis General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 6 07-20-2011 01:55 AM
Overflow placement Bashbro General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 07-05-2011 06:04 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.