Help me AA!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

mugginns

Aquarium Advice Regular
OK- so I went to purchase my LR. Actually my girlfriend picked it up from this guy who was taking down his tank. My LR she picked up -

http://www.flickr.com/photo_zoom.gne?id=1383941698&size=l

as you can see, lots of growth on them, pretty cool.

The guy sends along another box of stuff-

http://www.flickr.com/photo_zoom.gne?id=1383941676&size=l

Now, these are corals, but I know 0 about corals and i haven't researched them. I didn't plan on getting any until I read about them a bunch.

Are they alive? Dead? Worth putting in my tank? Any ID?

(I didn't really search or anything yet- just looking for some advice)

While I'm no expert on how long corals can stay alive out of water (I don't see any water in those tubs), I'm thinking if the guy put them in the tub without water then they're dead.

Regarding the live rock, get that in salt water soon if you don't want a lot of die off. Also, some of those rocks have little green bubbles on them. You don't want that algae in your tank - scrub those bubbles off the rocks before you put them in water.

Kurt_Nelson said:
While I'm no expert on how long corals can stay alive out of water (I don't see any water in those tubs), I'm thinking if the guy put them in the tub without water then they're dead.

Regarding the live rock, get that in salt water soon if you don't want a lot of die off. Also, some of those rocks have little green bubbles on them. You don't want that algae in your tank - scrub those bubbles off the rocks before you put them in water.

Ah, they were out of water for about an hour and a half. They were covered in paper towel that was wet with some water in the tub.