help with lights

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

alrmc4

Aquarium Advice Addict
thanks to hara i now have my lighting dilemma narrowed down to 2 : both are Aqualine Buschke one is 2, 250 hqi with pc the other is 2,250 hqi with moonlight this is for my new 75 that will house clams and corals...opinions please will the moonlight give my tank enough blue light or do i have to give up the moonlight for now...thanks all.

I'm no expert on HQI, but my understanding is that if the bulbs are a high enough color temp, you don't have to run supplemental actinics. Eg...if your HQI bulbs were 20,000k. I believe you could take a regular old strip light and convert it to a 2x65w PC using a 2x59 Sylvania ballast from Lowes. That could be added later for actinics if you needed them. Probably cost you less than $100 to do that. Champion lighting also has moonlights, but I'm not sure of the price.

Of the two, depending on the spectrum of the MH, I would choose the actinics over the moon light. The moonlight will not give enough blue light, IMO, but may not be necessary (depending on MH spectrum and visual preference).

You might want to look through the galleries here and check out how different color temp lights look. I think Kevin has some pics of his tank with different bulbs although they aren't HQI. You start with a yellowish hue at 5500k...to a whiter looking light around 10,000k...and into more of blue tint on the 20,000k lights. You might also be able to make your own moonlight with a couple of the 9 or 13w actinics. I believe www.ahsupply.com has them for less than $20 for the whole kit. The ballast/endcap is all one unit and relatively small...shouldn't be hard to incorporate in into your canopy.