Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-22-2005, 10:09 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: SPARKS MD
Posts: 27
HOME DEPOT SAND

im gonna do deep sand bed in my 90 gallon at first it will be decorative rock and then maybe ill get some live rock anyway what sand can i get from home depot? how much? should i put the home depot sand under my live sand? TIA oh yeah how much does the home depot sand cost?
__________________

__________________
NEWTOSALT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2005, 10:32 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Stuart, FL
Posts: 106
OldCastle/Yardright/Southdown playsand -- say around 5.00 for a 50lb bag -- the sand must be calcium based NOT silicate based
__________________

__________________
180 gal Acrylic, 250 lbs Fiji/Tonga mix, 3x175 watt MH & 2X96 watt PC, 1/5hp Arctica chiller, EV-180 skimmer
Brown Tang, mated pair Clowns, 4 Fire Gobies, 13 Chromis, Orangespotted Sleeper Goby

Some corals and inverts yet to be identified!
nickthapainter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2005, 11:38 PM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
There's a sand calculator on this forum that will get you an aprox amount of sand that you need.

Make sure you go to the GARDEN CENTER for the sand. Tell them you want the tropical playsand for a sandbox.

Sorry, I don't have a pic of the Old Castle bag.
Attached Images
  
cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2005, 05:42 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 471
Call local Home depots and have them check the SKU. The HD SKU for Old Castle Tropical is 578-819 - only works for HD I think. Also, if they don't have it, they may be able to find the nearest store that stocks it.
__________________
hey half the fun is dreaming it up!
srgetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2005, 05:47 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Waxahachie, TX
Posts: 436
Send a message via MSN to mjvincent
That sku also comes up as something else here in Texas. I was really excited to find some only to find that it was regular garden sand from a local company...
__________________
Mike Jones
32 gallon hex, 34 lbs lr, Prizm protein skimmer, fluval 104, 1 maxi jet 750, 1 maxi jet 1200 ph, current 40w 50/50 pc, 1 NO powerglo 19watt, 1 daylight NO 65w (equiv), two damsels, 1 green brittlestar, 1 peppermint shrimp, turbo snails, red legged hermit crabs, kenyan tree coral, leather coral, pumping xenia, mushroom coral, green star polyps, orange button polyps
mjvincent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2005, 06:28 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: SPARKS MD
Posts: 27
this is harder to get than i imagined they said they dont have it and dont know when they will !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
__________________
NEWTOSALT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2005, 07:42 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Posts: 3,294
i had read on a fourm that the place where the sand was made was turned into something else? Don't recall what, they said that there will be no more Old Castle sand. Thats just what I read on a fourm.
__________________
9/02-125 REEF, 125 lbs LR,LS 4x160 VHO, Reef Devil /Sump, Fuge
7/03-55 FOWLR 60lb LR, 50 lb SD sand 2x40 NO strip light, Reef Devil/sump, Fuge

TANK PICS http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=98202
seaham358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2005, 10:51 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Titusville PA
Posts: 62
Send a message via AIM to Joemama16341 Send a message via MSN to Joemama16341
If I can tag onto this forum I already have an established aquarium with a sand bed. Can I add this into my tank to make my sandbed deeper?
__________________
Joemama16341
Joemama16341 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2005, 11:02 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: SPARKS MD
Posts: 27
i would think so but if there is already water in the tank than it would cloud up prolly
__________________
NEWTOSALT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2005, 11:53 PM   #10
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
You can "cure" the sand in a tub so it gets coated with bacteria and then add it. Add no more than ½ - 1" at a time.

To cure use teh fishless cycle method (see articles) and mix the sand every day in the tub.
__________________

cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sand

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Home Depot playbox sand... Good Crab Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 04-14-2006 09:28 PM
Kolorscape sand at Home Depot? ChosenOne Saltwater Reef Aquaria 19 10-14-2005 11:37 PM
Home Depot sand? DragonForce Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 14 09-25-2005 01:20 PM
home depot sand abomb Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 23 02-26-2005 09:45 AM
Sand from Home Depot EMS503 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 8 08-26-2003 10:18 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.