Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-23-2014, 02:03 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Magnus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sniperhank View Post
And? How long did you have it in there? It takes a couple of weeks to cycle a tank.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
The first time I only left it in for three days. That was six weeks ago. I put a new piece in and it's been in there for about a week now. Shouldn't I be seeing some change in levels?
__________________

__________________
"What scares the heck out of me is how stupid people are out-breeding the smart ones."
Magnus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2014, 02:37 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BigRedsReefs10's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 4,675
Your not even seeing nitrates? That leads me to suspect the tests.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________

__________________
BigRedsReefs10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2014, 02:38 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Chefjpaul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: NYC
Posts: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigRedsReefs10 View Post
Your not even seeing nitrates? That leads me to suspect the tests.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

+1.



Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
🐌
Chefjpaul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2014, 03:47 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Magnus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 153
I'm following the tests as per the instructions. Let me go try again right now.
__________________
"What scares the heck out of me is how stupid people are out-breeding the smart ones."
Magnus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2014, 04:14 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Magnus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 153
Ok, I re-did the test, carefully reading the instructions. Here is what I got. Basically the same as before:



Is it possible my test kit isn't working? Also, the Ammonia looks cloudy, as if there is some solid matter forming. I can take pics of the instructions too, maybe they are printed wrong?
__________________
"What scares the heck out of me is how stupid people are out-breeding the smart ones."
Magnus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2014, 04:21 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Chefjpaul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: NYC
Posts: 103
The only way to tell is to add ammonia to 3ppm.

You may have cycled, but by not feeding bacteria, it may have died and need to start over.

Or

You maybe good to go.
I have never had nitrates show up with API.



Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
🐌
Chefjpaul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2014, 04:24 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BigRedsReefs10's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 4,675
The api nitrate test can be finicky, I'd try that a few times. It's got to be exactly what the instructions say down to the second with the shaking and such IME.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
BigRedsReefs10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2014, 04:26 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Magnus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 153
Should I see about getting a different nitrate test? Or just go with the Ammonia?
__________________
"What scares the heck out of me is how stupid people are out-breeding the smart ones."
Magnus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2014, 04:29 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Magnus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 153
Does Seachem make good test kits?

Assorted Seachem Multitest Water Quality Test Kits for Aquariums Fish Tanks | eBay
__________________
"What scares the heck out of me is how stupid people are out-breeding the smart ones."
Magnus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2014, 04:29 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Chefjpaul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: NYC
Posts: 103
Just go with ammonia first.
You need to establish where the water is at with that.

If... In 24 hrs. It disappears.
Your tank is cycled, meaning it can consume up to that % of ammonia per day.

Then, after that. Get yourself some decent test kits.



Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________

__________________
🐌
Chefjpaul is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycle, cycled, led, tan, tank

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tank Disaster, I'm killing fish and I don't know why! Snwbirdy Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 7 04-15-2014 11:06 AM
I'm not happy with my tank and I don't know why lyquidphyre Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 22 02-19-2005 12:42 AM
My Ph is dropping and I don't know why? clownfish Saltwater Reef Aquaria 7 10-14-2003 11:34 AM
HELP! My tetras are dying 1 by 1. don't know why illuminum Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 9 10-11-2003 03:31 PM
My fish are dying and I don't know why. wabyrd Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 4 07-22-2003 11:00 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.