Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-26-2008, 02:44 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 42
I think I need more flow? Help, please?

I think I've misunderstood a couple of things I've read, and I think I need more flow in my tank. Right now, I have two pumps, rated 500gph and 350gph, coming from my wet/dry filter (minus bioballs!), and a 350Mag canister filter (without any media except for a bag of Purigen.) My tank is a 125g FOWLR (but I am contemplating putting in some mushrooms) with under 20" worth of total fish size. I don't really want to add anything until I figure out the flow problem, though. If I add more flow, how much should I add? Should I add it through up-sizing the wet/dry filter pumps, or through the addition of powerheads like a couple of Hydor Koralias?
__________________

__________________
LynnCeeBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2008, 03:18 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
Do you have any live rock in the tank?

Generally you want to have 10x-20x water volume of flow in the tank (gph). For a 125 you want 1250 gph or more flowing through the tank.

I would use a couple of Hydor Koralias.
__________________

cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2008, 03:30 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 42
Yes, I have about 140lbs in the main tank, and another 30lbs in the wet/dry.

How exactly would I figure out how much flow I have now? I don't understand what "head" means (well, in aquarium speak, anyway!) in terms of subtracting and adding gph according to turns and stuff. I think I got really lost trying to figure out how much more flow (i.e., which Hydor Koralias, and how many.)

Thanks for all your help.
__________________
LynnCeeBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2008, 05:00 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: not here anymore
Posts: 5,338
"Head" is just the distance that your pump has to pump water back up, until it reaches the tank. It's probably about 3 feet or so. Once you know this, then you can find a chart that is specific to your pump that tells you what flow you should expect at your tank. The chart accounts for the "head loss" from the additional work the pump needs to do to lift the water.

With that said though, with the 2 sump pumps and the Mag350, you probably have somewhere between 900 and 1000 gph turnover coming into your tank. Roughly. I'd probably supplement that with a couple powerheads rather than by increasing your return pump size. That way you have more control over where you place the flow source and can tuck the powerhead behind rockwork to hide it, or place it to bounce the flow off the sides of the tank, etc. I'd also suggest a couple Koralias, at least the #2, maybe the #3.
__________________
Kurt_Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2008, 01:51 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 42
I never cease to be amazed at the help this forum so freely gives out. Thanks!

I just bought a couple of the #3 Koralias. Last questions: Since they don't have to pump water any distance up, that means that their rating of 850gph does not have to be adjusted? And once I get them into the tank, I would have (roughly) 2600-2700gph to work with? Would it be better just to use one pump, or is more flow better?
__________________
LynnCeeBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2008, 02:11 PM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
MOre is better to a point. Some corals like areas of high flow, some medium and some low. Good luck finding good definitions of those terms <g>. The rockwork will break up the flow and cause it to bounce around which will give your tank areas of greater and lesser flow.

The power heads are calculated at their rated volumes as you surmised, because there is no restriction.

Hope that helps.
__________________

cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
flow

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Flow meter for high flow canister? TankGirl Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 0 03-30-2009 03:55 PM
How much flow is too much flow? mugginns Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 09-12-2007 08:18 PM
RO/DI flow Mosaic General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 02-04-2007 07:14 PM
Single strong flow PH vs. Two with less flow tdthrows Saltwater Reef Aquaria 8 05-27-2006 03:31 PM
Flow in a QT? jaiden Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 12-04-2004 03:24 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.