Lighting!!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Nu-Nu the eel

Aquarium Advice Addict
Hey everyone! I was thinking about starting a 10 gallon saltwater tank, and i was wondering what light i would need to grow basic corals! I heard that a t5 light would be good and i wanted to know if thats true, if so how much it would cost! Thanks!

Hey, T-5 is a great choice. It is probably anywhere from $100-$300. LEDS are good too and aren't too expensive if you have a small tank. Are you thinking basic corals like soft corals (xenia, etc.) or LPS or SPS. Here's a link to the light I use, but it's pretty costly and is not needed if you are just keeping soft corals.

Sunlight Supply TEK Light T5 Fixture - English

Ohh thanks! Well i only want the most basic of corals, and ya the lught would go on a 10 gallon! Haha im a beginner so i was hoping for something as cheap as possible, but could grow stuff! I thought i saw a t5 online for 30$? Was i looking at the wrong place?? Thanks!!

Haha not to be discouraging but it's going to be hard to find something for under 100$ that can keep corals:/

Hey guys. I was wondering if you can still sustain simple coral with two incondesant lights and about 6 hours of indirect sunlight

Va-lerry said:
Hey guys. I was wondering if you can still sustain simple coral with two incondesant lights and about 6 hours of indirect sunlight

Like the 15 watt bulbs that come on small freshwater set-ups?

Ya i was just hoping for a bulb, i dont need the whole set up! Haha how much is the bulb?

Yeah. My 10 gallon came with a hood that holds two 15 bulbs

Va-lerry said:
Yeah. My 10 gallon came with a hood that holds two 15 bulbs

Yeah that won't house anything. You'll need a t5 HO fixture with atleast 36 watts for your tank and then you can house some low-medium light corals.:)

SleepsWithFish said: