Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 05-10-2006, 03:25 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

Live sand

You have to excuse me I just perchased a 33G Salt setup (thanks Connie)
and will be filling it up on the weekend. This is my first attempt at salt.
my question in= Do you have to use live sand or does normal sand work?
Are there benefits to live sand? would lake sand become live?
TIA

Old 05-10-2006, 03:56 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus

Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
Lake sand as in pulling it out of a lake right now or as in sand thats been out of a lake and dried for a period of time?

Live sand is of benifit because it provides a starter bactera bed as well as provides a realistic looking enviorment. In addition quality live sand (not the stuff that comes in bags at the lFS) will have microcritters in it aswell as the bactera benifits.

'dead' sand can be used as long as its of decent particle size. The smaller the better as far as particles are concerned. In addition the argonite based sand products are good as it can help buffer the PH to some degree. In addition argonite sand is usually much softer as far as the edges vs silica based sand.

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2006, 04:08 PM   #3

I have sand from a lake that has been Boiled clean, was wondering about that.
Like I said I will be filling it this weekend and figured I should have the substrate in first?
then live rock and then wait for cycling to finish.

I am what I am.
and I'm kid safe for Carp sakes