Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-22-2009, 03:57 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Mechanicsville Virginia
Posts: 14
Multiple tanks to one sump/refugium?

I would like to install two 90 Gallon tanks to one sump/refugium.
Is this possible and is it a good or bad idea?

With this setup could I still incorporate a top off device in the sump for both tanks?

Is there any advantage/disadvantage to setting up two 90s versus one 150 gallon tank?

I am new at this so thanks for your patience.

Tim
__________________

__________________
tgeer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2009, 04:22 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jrp1588's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Evansville, Indiana
Posts: 1,875
Send a message via AIM to jrp1588
I don't see any reason why it wouldn't work. I'd just set up an appropriately large sump to accommodate both tanks.

I'd personally set up 1 large 150gal though. Many large tangs require a 100gal or more, and would be happier in the large tank. Also, you'd have 1 less return pump to buy, less plumbing to fiddle with.
__________________

__________________
jrp1588 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2009, 04:40 PM   #3
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,244
The only bad thing about it is that if there is parasites or disease then all tanks will be affected. Seperate would be better from that standpoint.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2009, 04:48 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BigJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Oak Forest, IL
Posts: 4,388
Well, if you're new at this, you've got some ambition. I commend you for it.

It is possible with a little creative plumbing. The drains are easy. Just run both drains down to the sump. I'd use one pump for the returns and split the return line with a tee. Put a ball valve on both output sides of the tee to balance the return flow between the tanks.

An ATO system should still work.

Two 90s over One 150g

Pros: More space, the ability to keep two different styles of tanks.

Cons: More complicated plumbing (minor), need to oversize the sump to handle the overflow of two tanks when the power is off.

You'd probably have to keep the tanks close together to work with one sump too. I think balancing the water flow would be difficult if the tanks are on opposite ends of the house.
__________________
BigJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2009, 05:09 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Mechanicsville Virginia
Posts: 14
The tanks would be side by side. I guess I am trying to invision how the ATO would work in the sump. I guess it would not matter which tank is low? THe ATO would kick in and water then would go to both tanks with the one tank requiring more water retaining more water?
__________________
tgeer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2009, 05:15 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jrp1588's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Evansville, Indiana
Posts: 1,875
Send a message via AIM to jrp1588
with a sump, the display tanks are always at a constant level. the only thing that gets low on water is the sump. This is where the ATO goes, and what gets topped off.
__________________
jrp1588 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2009, 08:33 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Mechanicsville Virginia
Posts: 14
As I understand the top off is of fresh water which keeps the salinity of the tank in acceptable range. If tank A is running lights that cause a faster evaporation than tank B will the salinity values of tank A, tank B, and the sump be the same in this configuration?
__________________
tgeer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2009, 09:00 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 65
I have a 90 gallon with a 20 gallon setting beside it both plumbed into one Sump system. I use a a HoB overflow on the 20 gallon and I return the water with a Fluval 305. The one thing that is most important with a multi tank system is to make sure your overflow can handle your return or you could pump your large tank into your smaller one causing SIGNIFICANT flooding! lol trust me I know. I caught it just in time. One advantage to this method is the larger the amount of saltwater the more forgiving the water conditions will be.
__________________
Stat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2009, 09:48 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Mechanicsville Virginia
Posts: 14
Thanks for the warning. My plans are to start off with one 90 gallon and in the future add a secon 90. I am looking to also purchase a used 75 gallon to set up for the sump.
__________________
tgeer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2009, 11:23 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jrp1588's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Evansville, Indiana
Posts: 1,875
Send a message via AIM to jrp1588
there will be no difference in salinity between the two tanks. Basically connecting them both to one sump would make it into 1 big system. The water would freely travel through the system and equalize in salinity and temperature and such. The ATO will help keep salinity constant throughout the system, and will keep sump levels steady
__________________

__________________
jrp1588 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
multiple tanks, refugium, sump, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multiple tanks for sump? curt General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 02-11-2010 11:00 PM
Q? How do you use a Python on multiple tanks joannde Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 14 09-15-2006 11:15 PM
Using a Python in Multiple tanks frenchpea2002 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 10 06-03-2006 03:49 PM
multiple tanks, shared sump mp3z24 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 7 05-23-2006 04:46 PM
Heating multiple tanks zotarqui DIY Projects 10 10-22-2003 10:58 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.