Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 12-22-2009, 03:57 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

Multiple tanks to one sump/refugium?

I would like to install two 90 Gallon tanks to one sump/refugium.
Is this possible and is it a good or bad idea?

With this setup could I still incorporate a top off device in the sump for both tanks?

Is there any advantage/disadvantage to setting up two 90s versus one 150 gallon tank?

I am new at this so thanks for your patience.

Tim

Old 12-22-2009, 04:22 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

Send a message via AIM to jrp1588
I don't see any reason why it wouldn't work. I'd just set up an appropriately large sump to accommodate both tanks.

I'd personally set up 1 large 150gal though. Many large tangs require a 100gal or more, and would be happier in the large tank. Also, you'd have 1 less return pump to buy, less plumbing to fiddle with.

Old 12-22-2009, 04:40 PM   #3
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin

Tank of the Month Award

The only bad thing about it is that if there is parasites or disease then all tanks will be affected. Seperate would be better from that standpoint.

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank

AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2009, 04:48 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict

Well, if you're new at this, you've got some ambition. I commend you for it.

It is possible with a little creative plumbing. The drains are easy. Just run both drains down to the sump. I'd use one pump for the returns and split the return line with a tee. Put a ball valve on both output sides of the tee to balance the return flow between the tanks.

An ATO system should still work.