New to fishless cycling

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

hawks12

Aquarium Advice Newbie
It has been 20 years since I have had SW tanks. A lot has changed. This is my first attempt at cycling a new tank without live fish for the ammonia supply.

I have a 100 DT with a 30 gallon sump. During this process, I have not been running any lights and have been running my skimmer. I have 80 lbs of base rock and 30 lbs live rock. Live rock was from LFS and had lots of life, heavy coralline, etc. Out of water for about 10-15 minutes for drive home.

The tank was started on 07/25 with all the above. 1.026 salinity, 8.0-8.1 PH, temp 80. I placed an uncooked jumbo shrimp in on that day. I tested about every other day and never saw ammonia, nitrite or nitrate. Using a new API kit. The shrimp decomposed to nothing, only a bit of the tail left.

On 08/04 still no readings. I dosed ammonia direct to the tank to 2ppm. On 08/06 I tested and ammonia was down to .25, no nitrites. On 08/07 all three readings were zero. I then dosed back to 2ppm ammonia. On 08/08 ammonia was down to .25 again, zero nitrites. I tested again today and ammonia, nitrites and nitrates were zero.

Any thoughts? Should I keep repeating the ammonia dosing until I see a nitrite spike? There is a little amount of diatoms at the base of some of the base rock and on the sand, and some of the coralline is spreading to the base rock. I am not in a hurry to have this cycle, I just want to make sure I am doing this right. The soonest I could add fish would be 4-6 weeks from now anyways due to QT time. Thanks in advance for any advice.