Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-16-2003, 09:37 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 747
overflow boxes

im wanting to buy an overflow box to get water to my refugeum.... i was thinking about gettin this one

http://www.marinedepot.com/md_viewIt...product=CR1511

could u guys explain to me how it works? it comes with everything i need right? how does the continuous siphon work?

ty muchly

ross
__________________

__________________
saltcreep1025 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2003, 10:22 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chatsworth, GA
Posts: 4,071
Send a message via Yahoo to loganj
CPR overflows rely on a powerhead to keep the air out of the siphon. This doesn't mean the water will hit the floor if the PH quits though. You'll need a PH to attach to the air line fitting on the overflow tube. I would suggest at least a Maxi Jet 900. The air line runs from the overflow tube to the venturi attachment on the PH. The idea is that the suction from the venturi will clear any air bubbles that find their way into the tube. A strong PH will even restart the siphon by itself. Personally, I like the old U tube overflows. I have had good service from them. You'll want to make sure that the air line going to the PH is submerged even when the pump is shut off and the water level in the main tank drops. One thing to note: if the air line ever comes off, the siphon will break and the tank will overflow.
__________________

__________________
Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away.
Logan J
loganj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2003, 10:05 AM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
Im a firm beliver in the U tube overflows vs the CPR style overflows for the exact reason logan explained in their need for a PH to help keep the overflow free of air. U tube overflows dont have this problem usually and if they do then its usually a result of to low of flow going thru them.

Most single U tube overflows will be able to handle approx 600-700GPH flow rate. Hara found some nice U tube overflows on ebay or you could look at www.lifereef.com for their prefilter box's.
__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2003, 10:45 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: chicago
Posts: 2,216
also not only do ya need to buy the powerhead but the venturi as well forget were i found mine !! the only up side is that cprs take up less room in the tank
__________________
good luck keith
scuba_steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2003, 11:32 AM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chatsworth, GA
Posts: 4,071
Send a message via Yahoo to loganj
All the Maxi Jet PH's come with the venturi attachment. I wouldn't trust anything else. I know you all get tired of me talking about Maxi Jet PH's, but they really are that good.
__________________
Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away.
Logan J
loganj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2003, 11:45 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: chicago
Posts: 2,216
no they dont !! ya need the part that plugs into the input side of the pump and the air line attaches to !! just like the seaclones come with !! if it does come with that then ive bought 8 of them and none had it in the box mabe i have mine set up diff ?!?! but that how mine is set up !! ahhhhhh i think i got it ya sticking the air line to the tip ??? i bought the attachment for the air line to sit before the impeller !! if your using the tip the ph came with how well does it work if ya sump is over 12" deep ??? my way seams to suck no matter how deep !! follow me ?? learned something new
http://www.premiumaquatics.com/Merch...y_Code=Maxijet


this is what i thought ya had to use so i bought 2 for both my overflows
__________________
good luck keith
scuba_steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2003, 03:34 PM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chatsworth, GA
Posts: 4,071
Send a message via Yahoo to loganj
On a MJ900 or 1200, the attachment that comes with the PH is sufficient to keep the air out of the overflow. It does attach to the output side of the PH. The 1200 will even reprime the siphon tube if installed that way. I wouldn't recommend this option with either the 600 or 400 as they don't generate enough flow. The powerhead should be located close to the surface and inside the main tank. Even if you use the other attachment, the MJ venturi available from Premium Aquatics, you'll lose flow as the PH is moved deeper. Although this attachment will work fine, it is not needed for this application. It is primarily intended for use with smaller skimmers that use the MJ as a pump. The depth of the sump has nothing to do with keeping the air out of the overflows.
__________________
Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away.
Logan J
loganj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2003, 04:23 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Biggen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Panama City FL
Posts: 1,817
Go with the advice Logan and fishfreek gave you. I have a CPR overflow, but if I had to do it again, I would get the "U" type. It has never given me any problems but it is just something else that "could" go wrong even though it probably never will.
__________________
Rodman
Biggen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2003, 04:30 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: chicago
Posts: 2,216
cool didnt know that that would work !! but if ya have the ph in the main tank god i hate to see all the air it pushs thru it ughhhh

i had to wait a week to get that little piece before i good get set up lololol to to funny
__________________
good luck keith
scuba_steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2003, 04:51 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: grand rapids mi
Posts: 143
LoganJ called it. Go U-tube.
__________________

__________________
wseaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
flow, overflow, overflow boxes

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Overflow boxes stink! MsBeanCtr General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 6 08-26-2008 12:05 AM
Overflow boxes. celtic_dude General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 07-29-2007 11:50 PM
overflow boxes pool_dude Saltwater Reef Aquaria 8 01-30-2005 03:34 PM
Overflow Boxes, yo. aquafreak Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 12-28-2004 06:32 PM
Overflow Boxes General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 9 08-23-2004 12:21 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.