Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-14-2010, 09:47 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ilostnemo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Under ziggys bed..
Posts: 1,365
seahorse question regarding filtration

with filtration does it need to be 10x? or what because ive read they dont need alot of current.
__________________

__________________
ilostnemo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 10:03 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Etunes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 3,162
It is always the more filtration the better. But in a SW tank the only filtration you need is live rock and a skimmer. So on that note the bigger skimmer the better. But yes, they do not like current.
__________________

__________________
It is all about the oddballs
~Ian~
Etunes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 10:20 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ilostnemo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Under ziggys bed..
Posts: 1,365
Quote:
Originally Posted by Etunes View Post
It is always the more filtration the better. But in a SW tank the only filtration you need is live rock and a skimmer. So on that note the bigger skimmer the better. But yes, they do not like current.
it all needs current so like my question stated what does the gph need to be
__________________
ilostnemo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 10:42 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Etunes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 3,162
It depends on what size tank it is. Because the gph needs to be enough for the tank to be circulating and keep the tanks system stable but not enough were the sea horses are going to be blown away. If it is something like a 40g plus i do not think it matter because the real current comes from the powerheads but if it is a nano then you might have too much current from just the output even though i dought it.
__________________
It is all about the oddballs
~Ian~
Etunes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 11:33 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ilostnemo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Under ziggys bed..
Posts: 1,365
Quote:
Originally Posted by Etunes View Post
It depends on what size tank it is. Because the gph needs to be enough for the tank to be circulating and keep the tanks system stable but not enough were the sea horses are going to be blown away. If it is something like a 40g plus i do not think it matter because the real current comes from the powerheads but if it is a nano then you might have too much current from just the output even though i dought it.
Its a twelve gallon set up. and i know the 10x gph rule for regular tanks but since these need not alot of current....
__________________
ilostnemo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 11:40 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Etunes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 3,162
That is a good rule IF you need enough turn over for the fishes bio-load. If you have sea horses then you should only really having the sea horses in the tank (especially in a 10g). So honestly i think that is fine, just try to redirect the flow of the output so it is not effecting them directly and do not add any additional flow. You could even do less then the recomended 10x turn over and be fine.
__________________
It is all about the oddballs
~Ian~
Etunes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 12:00 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ilostnemo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Under ziggys bed..
Posts: 1,365
Quote:
Originally Posted by Etunes View Post
That is a good rule IF you need enough turn over for the fishes bio-load. If you have sea horses then you should only really having the sea horses in the tank (especially in a 10g). So honestly i think that is fine, just try to redirect the flow of the output so it is not effecting them directly and do not add any additional flow. You could even do less then the recomended 10x turn over and be fine.
Its going to be just sea horses and maybe crabs or snails one of the two, and well with the current should i just get a filter for a normal ten gallon like the top fin 10?
__________________
ilostnemo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 01:13 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
redneckgearhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: tulsa OK
Posts: 291
wat kinda sea horse can you put in a ten gallon?
__________________
redneckgearhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 12:20 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ilostnemo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Under ziggys bed..
Posts: 1,365
in a twelve gallon like im going to build you can fit two atlantic seahorses at least thats what ive read. They dont get that big if you get the right species. and you cant keep other fish in the tank with them. They are slow eaters, theyll look at the food for a couple of seconds before they eat it.
__________________
ilostnemo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 12:46 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ilostnemo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Under ziggys bed..
Posts: 1,365
Now what should my gallon per hour output be? I was planing on having 2-3 inch sand bed, maybe 5-10 lbs live rock. and Some corals for the seahorses to be able to latch to. But i was going to cycle it and then have one or to dominos in there to establish it for the 6 months needed before the coral and seahorses
__________________

__________________
ilostnemo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filtration, seahorse

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Another filtration question. Marconis General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 10-25-2007 03:23 PM
Filtration Question InxayonFinland Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 9 09-08-2006 04:31 PM
Filtration Question FawnN General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 8 10-27-2004 10:30 PM
seahorse question xxmoorishmanxx Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 06-01-2004 06:04 PM
Filtration question fishy929 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 10 07-19-2003 04:34 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.