Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-19-2013, 07:18 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Viper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 17
Setting up a new Tank

I currently have a 15 gallon nano tank that has been up and running for over a year now. I'm hoping to move everything into a 30 gallon tank for some more room and more fish. Everything is perfect right now with water parameters. My questions are how can I transport everything into the new tank, I want to use my existing sand, live rocks and water and just add to it. What would the process be to do this? Thanks for all the help
__________________

__________________
Viper23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 11:11 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Viper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 17
Do I need to add anything to new water?
__________________

__________________
Viper23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 12:01 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
200 gallon reef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 507
Quote:
Originally Posted by Viper23 View Post
I currently have a 15 gallon nano tank that has been up and running for over a year now. I'm hoping to move everything into a 30 gallon tank for some more room and more fish. Everything is perfect right now with water parameters. My questions are how can I transport everything into the new tank, I want to use my existing sand, live rocks and water and just add to it. What would the process be to do this? Thanks for all the help
In my opinion there is no easy way to do this. What type of 30 gallon tank is it? Sump?

If it were me I would first mix about 20 gallons. Then syphon out necessary tank water into a separate bucket to hold ur current fish. Catch them and put them into the buckets. Then syphon the rest of the tank water into the new tank. transfer all rock, sand and coral to new tank. Add needed new mix water. Then once filtering and running for a little check salinity. Then add fish.
__________________
200 gallon reef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 07:51 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Viper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 17
No sump, just 2 marineland hang on back filters, enough for 100 gallon tank. What about my old tank, I still want to use it for a quarantine tank. It has some great coralline all over it. How long can I keep it ok with no water in it?
__________________
Viper23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 08:38 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Daniel Fishy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Jupiter Fla
Posts: 1,178
Agree with 200 gal did the same with a upgrade everything is fine. As for old tank mix up some more water and fill it up.
__________________
Daniel Fishy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
setting up, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.