Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 11-01-2003, 07:16 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

Setting Up the Tank

As you can see, I am new to this. With your help so far, I have gotten this far: Added the live sand and r/o water and the salt. The water is cloudy at this time. I also went out and purchased a Seaclone 100 skimmer and an Aquaclear powerhead. Questions: Do I attach the skimmer and the powerhead now or is there a waiting period? I was also told that I can cycle the tank with two damsels. When do I add the damsels? Again, this is a 29 gallon tank. Your help is very much appreciated. Thank you, Patti.

Old 11-01-2003, 07:58 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak

Hi Patti: I am researching my first saltwater tank, so I am not too far behind you... Take a look at the articles section of this website. There is a good article about cycling your tank without fish. That is what I plan to do, rather than subject a damsel to that just because they are hardy. Your LFS will lose the sale of the damsels, but oh well... you'll be able to get the fish you really want when your tank is ready. I've heard the damsels are aggressive too... I have aggressive freshwater fish. I plan to get SW fish that play well with others!

Old 11-01-2003, 08:06 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular

Here are a couple of links for you. The first one is the article Tigerlily was refering to. The second is about Curing Live Rock, and the third is a thread I had started about cycling a tank with uncured live rock. Hope these help!

>>>Cycle your Tank without Fish<<<

>>>Curing Live Rock<<<

>>>Cycling with Uncured Live Rock<<<

http://www.reeffrontiers.com
NaH2O is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2003, 08:24 PM   #4