Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 01-30-2014, 03:40 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

Starting a new 10g saltwater tank

Hello All! I am new to this, but have just started my 10 gallon salter aquarium. It was previously a freshwater tank. It is currently cycling. I took the water in for testing and the Ph was low, and nitrates and nitrites were high. I bought a reef buffer for the tank to try to help with the Ph. I also have yet to turn on the lights... unfortunately the hood I have only has screw in incandescent bulbs. I am not really planning on coral in the future, but if I were to it would only be soft corals. I am afraid of turning on these lights because of algae growth. Do you guys have any recommendations or screw in led bulbs that may help?

Old 01-30-2014, 03:44 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

Tank of the Month Award

Quote:
Originally Posted by bittenflame View Post
Hello All! I am new to this, but have just started my 10 gallon salter aquarium. It was previously a freshwater tank. It is currently cycling. I took the water in for testing and the Ph was low, and nitrates and nitrites were high. I bought a reef buffer for the tank to try to help with the Ph. I also have yet to turn on the lights... unfortunately the hood I have only has screw in incandescent bulbs. I am not really planning on coral in the future, but if I were to it would only be soft corals. I am afraid of turning on these lights because of algae growth. Do you guys have any recommendations or screw in led bulbs that may help?