Starting a saltwater tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Ejmcgeever

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi everyone, I'm new to the saltwater world and have been doing LOTS of research. Have read mixed things about certain things so I want input. I'm only starting a 29 gallon and I'm going to have an HOB filter. I have a marineland bio wheel 200 will that work or not? I've heard the bio wheel isn't great for saltwater tanks. Also if I do a FOWLR tank will a protein skimmer be 100% necassary or is it ok to wait u till I start doing live coral? I eventually will get a skimmer but just wondering if it's needed with the FOWLR? Thanks for reading hope you can help:)

I have a biowheel 200 on my 29, gallon it works well, I would rather have a sump though. My biowheel has a "sweet spot" for the water level, too high and it splashes all over my light, too low and there are a ton of microbubbles, just right and it works great. As for the skimmer, on a tank that small you can get away without one, just keep up with weekly partial water changes, don't overfeed and test your water weekly. My skimmer has been broken for some time and my levels are fine. I also do have corals so you should not have a problem with fowlr.

Welcome to AA and good luck with your new tank.

Cool this helps me out- thanks- What kinda fish you have in yours, thats my next step figuring out what i can have in a small tank.