Starting up - 55g - opinions for gear and stock

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Kizayaen

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
First off, allow me to say that I've been successfully keeping a couple of tropical freshwater community tanks for awhile now with some success, so I'm not a complete newbie. However, this will be my first marine/reef tank, so I figured I'd come to y'all experts to request some opinions.

I apologise if any of this is already widely known or recently answered. I did do my best to read up and get a general idea of the answers to my questions, but with nearly 26,000 posts in this forum alone, that was rather a daunting task.

What I'm mainly looking for here is just some opinions to see if my choices of gear and of stock are acceptable. Without further ado:

Tank: standard 48x13x18" 55-gallon. Lighting: 8x54W T5 HO tubes - they're a mix of 10k and actinic, but I'm not sure how many are which straight out of the box. Presumably it'd be a simple matter to replace individual tubes to suit need/preference. Also contains "moonlight" blue LED lamps. Total wattage will be 432W, which I'm hoping would be enough to get at least some of the medium-light corals happy. I'd like to add in a sump as well, but that's going to be a long term proposition if it happens at all.

Substrate: ~65lb Fiji live rock, and wavering between live sand and plain ol' normal sand - supposedly live sand is a Very Good Thing, but also supposedly it usually turns out to be dead sand by the time you get it, which I can't see really helping anything out.

Machinery: 2x Maxi-Jet 900 powerheads (rated 230gph apiece), 1x Marineland Magnum 350 Deluxe power filter (rated 350gph), 1x Visi-Therm Stealth 200W heater, Edit: 1x AquaC Remora skimmer with Maxi-Jet 1200 powerhead (rated up to 75g tanks.) The SeaClone I originally had listed has been found unworthy.