Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-01-2015, 12:52 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Reefing Madness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: AZ
Posts: 577
Effective, a skimmer thats rated well over your total water volume, say rated at or better than twice your volume.
Algae Turf Scrubber. If this is large enough, you don't need a skimmer.
Bottom line skimmer, and Vodka Dosing. I use a CoralifeSuper Skimmer 220, on my 240g tank, way under rated, but it works well enough for carbon dosing. Most who don't carbon dose, and just go off of what they read, have trouble understanding how well, and how easy it is to use. And how none complecated it is to you. Its not as dangerous as everyone makes it out to be also, it takes quite a bit more than anyone thinks to overdose a tank.
__________________

__________________
Reefing Madness Tank Pics
Reefing Madness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2015, 03:59 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Ashley73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 358
Thanks for all your replies guys and gals.

Sent from my SM-N915G using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________

__________________
Ashley73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2015, 09:43 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
Yes, water changes are an excellent way to remove unwanted nutrients and replace trace elements, but think of it this way- say your nitrates are at 40. You do a 25% water change, which at best, will only bring it down to 30. Still haven't solved the problem, and if you haven't corrected the issue (overstocking, overfeeding, inadequate flow/detritus buildup...) they will just keep climbing.
Preventative measures are what I would recommend- picking the right fish and the right amount of fish for your system. Over-sizing your protein skimmer, and a regular water change regimen. A big enough filter for the bio load (live rock, possibly a large refugium or turf scrubber) is also very important.
What kind of water volume are we talking about total? is this 4' tank a 75? 90? 120?
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2015, 08:33 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Ashley73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 358
200LT tank.

Sent from my SM-N915G using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
Ashley73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2015, 08:42 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
200 liters? roughly 52 gallons? I'd just get a good skimmer and stock reasonably.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2015, 08:50 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Ashley73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 358
Cant connect skimmer as have a.moray eel.

Sent from my SM-N915G using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
Ashley73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2015, 08:51 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Ashley73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 358
What about using NO3: PO4-X ?

Sent from my SM-N915G using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
Ashley73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2015, 08:53 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
What does having an eel have to do with not being able to have a skimmer? All the more reason to have a skimmer.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2015, 10:44 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Ashley73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 358
I dont have a sump. The lids for the tank are to the corners and drillled for filtre pipes so moray cant escape.

Sent from my SM-N915G using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
Ashley73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2015, 02:08 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
Can you cut more holes?
__________________

__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
adding another sump onto my original sump bingbat General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 01-15-2005 01:00 AM
Whats a sump, A simple sump Mr.Maska Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 12-19-2004 06:51 PM
To sump or not to sump RocketSeason Saltwater Reef Aquaria 9 05-07-2004 06:12 PM
sump or no sump NJDevilsWinCup Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 04-17-2004 10:56 AM
29 gal - To sump or not to sump? Salt4Us Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 01-31-2003 06:07 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.