Super Newbie questions...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

XXFirefighter

Aquarium Advice Addict
Hi guys, quick intro here. I live on the Central Coast in Cali and I am a firefighter.

I am going to aquire a 55 gallon tank here shortly and want to make a SW tank. I was thinking just fish with MAYBE a few mushrooms to add a little more color. Then maybe move on in a year or 2 with some coral. But for now just Fish only. I am having a VERY hard time with filters. I have none. I have had a few years off and on exp with FW tanks but 0 SW. Every shop I go to says get this filter or that filter. You need UV sterilation , then some say you don't. Prisim Pro filter? ViaAqua Multi-Skimmer??? Any other suggestions? I know to start off with live sand and some live rock. I was planning on getting some lava rock for a base and then live rock on top. Then let it cycle for a few weeks then slowly add fish. As for lighting it has a hood with 1 or 2 flourcent tubes in it. I was going to get 2 of the best bulbs I could find. 2, 40 watt bulbs with good coloring... Was planning on a few clowns and some more non aggressive fish. A crab or 2 and a slug...

Any other advise? Thanks !
Rich

Well I can tell you my setup, I just got a 50 gal a week ago, added some crushed coral and using a Filstar XP2 filter system. This filter states it pumps 350 gal/hr, so you should make sure you get something that will work for your 55. I think you should start it off like I am and go through the cycle process, then you can go from there. I have 4 damsels in it now for the cycling, it looks like its going well, they seem happy at the moment. Anyway, welcome to the forum. :mrgreen: