Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-20-2009, 07:36 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Delware
Posts: 38
tank cycle

these are my numbers for 55g tank

SG 1.025
PH 8.0
Ammonia 0
Nitrites 1.0
Nitrates 20

I know the nitrites should go to 0 but they spiked to 5 (highest at any time i have tested anyway) and fell to 1 for the past 3 days. Do I just keep waiting it out or should I do something to help it along( water change or something)

another question i have is when to add snails, crabs and starfish type things. clean up guys.
__________________

__________________
ojmenard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2009, 07:43 PM   #2
is back to save the day!
 
Zer0's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,194
Well all i know is that nitrite levels should be 0. nitrites cause stress to the fish and in some cases death.. so i wouldnt do anything with a nitrite level of 1. i would say wait until it goes below .35. anyone else want to chime in on this situation?
__________________

__________________
Zer0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2009, 08:27 PM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
I would wait until they hit 0. If you try to add fish, they will contribute to the ammonia and possibly prolong your cycle. Hang tight, you are almost there!
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2009, 08:32 PM   #4
is back to save the day!
 
Zer0's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,194
Could he use a supplement to lower the levels though? Like Amquel+ or something that gets rid of nitrite, nitrate, and ammonia?
__________________
Zer0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2009, 08:33 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Delware
Posts: 38
yeah i know they have to hit 0 im not in a hurry for the fish. was just asking if it stays at 1 for a few days at what point to i do something and what would i do (pwc).

second question was about clean up crew. when to add them. i have seen where people added them rather soon and i have heard not to worry bout them for months till your tank starts to get dirty?
__________________
ojmenard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2009, 08:37 PM   #6
HN1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
HN1's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Ga
Posts: 8,169
I agree. Now is the most important time to be the way we all hate to be.... patient.
__________________
Question everything you see on the internet. ~ George Orwell
HN1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2009, 08:38 PM   #7
HN1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
HN1's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Ga
Posts: 8,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by ojmenard View Post
second question was about clean up crew. when to add them. i have seen where people added them rather soon and i have heard not to worry bout them for months till your tank starts to get dirty?
I wouldn't add a CUC until the tank is fully cycled and there is a reason (i.e. algae) present.
__________________
Question everything you see on the internet. ~ George Orwell
HN1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2009, 08:41 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Delware
Posts: 38
lol you guys take my questions as impatience. its not. i just like to plan ahead and to know what is gonna happen next. such as if the nitrites decide to hang out at 1 for awhile. if i dont do anything thats fine was just wondering. also the clean up crew was curious if i need to start figuring what i am gonna get or if i need to wait for a couple months for the tank to get dirty.

but thats why i like this site everyone is still friendly and answers even though most of the time the answer is patience.
__________________
ojmenard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2009, 08:43 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Delware
Posts: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by HN1 View Post
I wouldn't add a CUC until the tank is fully cycled and there is a reason (i.e. algae) present.

well i have plenty of purple corraline algae present but i dont think that i want the CUC to eat that (might be wrong).
another bit of info i kinda left out was i started with 40 lbs of dry and 40 lbs of cured rock.
__________________
ojmenard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2009, 09:20 PM   #10
HN1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
HN1's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Ga
Posts: 8,169
Good for you for asking questions ahead of time and waiting until the right time. We've just all been there and know how much the anticipation of stocking builds. lol Sorry if I took your questions wrong or misunderstood where you were in the process.

No, the coraline is a good thing. I wouldn't seek out anything to eat it.
__________________

__________________
Question everything you see on the internet. ~ George Orwell
HN1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycle, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
starting a second tank. Speed up cycle w/ first tank water? turbovr6 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 5 11-28-2007 12:11 PM
New Tank Instantly at CYCLE level equal to other tank SKEET Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 8 07-09-2006 10:12 PM
Cycle-- How do YOU Cycle your tank? DragonFish Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 16 01-02-2006 12:02 AM
New tank: jump start cycle with bio wheel in existing tank? twestrope Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 4 11-02-2005 04:54 PM
To cycle or not to cycle.... (2-gallon tank) fearlessfisch Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 3 10-17-2004 01:34 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.