7G Small Aquarium -- DESPERATELY NEED ADVICE

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

vinnicotra

Aquarium Advice Newbie
OK.. so I am very new to the hobby. It all started on Friday when I won a goldfish at a fair. I came home and put it in a bowl with small rocks/ large pebbles. It didn't look too good and probably didn't stand a chance. On Saturday, i bought a used 7gallon tank with light and filter. I bought a new activated carbon cartridge and some tap water neutralizer. I cleaned the new tank out with a small amount of dish soap(which was prob a bad idea?) and then rinsed it out really really well. I then rinsed off the rocks from the bowl and put them in the new tank along with water from a brita filter and a few drops of the water chlorine neutralizer. i put the goldfish in a bag and put it in the new tank to acclimate.

In both tanks he just stayed at the bottom and he had white dots all over him so I got API super ich cure, removed the activated carbon filter cartridge and put 5 mL in today...

needless to say the goldfish is dead now. He is still in the tank. Now I want to move on and get smaller tropical fish.
What is my best bet? should i let it cycle now or should i start from scratch?
should i finish the ich treatment by adding another 5mL in 2 days?
i have a small aquatic plant in the tank as well.

I know i messed up but I am willing to learn and am extremely new to the hobby.

I would let it cycle, however, you can start from scratch, just make SURE that you never ever use any kind of soap again when cleaning your tank.

If you decide not to start over I would definately finish the ich treatment, just to be safe.

The fish from the fair are never in good condition-- they are just feeder comets and they aren't bred to be pets. They move them around a lot and they often get injured or sick in the process.