Activated Carbon

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jrizza

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hello,
I am fairly new to fish keeping and am wondering about activated carbon.

I have a cycled 10g with two aqualear sponge inserts and a bio-max insert. When cycling, i hear i should not put carbon in, so I didn't- and i've read that many people do not use carbon at all. However, it still appears to be a very common thing in the fish-keeping world. So I'm wondering...

When should an activated carbon insert be used, and what specifically does it do?

It is good to remove medications(which you won't need if you do regular large water changes). It is good to remove smells(which you won't have if you do regular large water changes). It is good to remove some pollutants (which can be removed with regular large water changes) but be careful not to let pollutants around your tank. Basically carbon is a waste of space in your filter and that space can be much better utilized by more biomedia. The regular large water changes are required with or without carbon by the way.

Sent from my iPhone 5 using Tapatalk 2

I been using it ( carbon)by the lbs and it does not seem to be no big thing.. I tried all that stuff and I DONT see no difference
if you do your w/c and DONT over feed you should have no problem
my new thing is the pillow now . just bought a brand new pillow and cut it open put the stuffing in the filters now thats working great !!

Sent from my C5170 using Aquarium Advice mobile app