Amount of fish a tank can hold?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

peter1209

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi,
I'm completely new to fish keeping and would like some advice as to what and how many fish my tank will take without over stocking.

I have just started the fishless cycle and everything is coming along nicely, I managed to get some used media from a friend so now provided I have done everything correctly it shouldnt be too long before the cycle is complete and I can start adding fish which brings me to my next problem.

The tank is about 90 litres or so, measurements are 82 (lenght) x 30 (width) x 40cm (height), I think its actually about 98 litres or something but lets just say its 90.

I have read the various "rule of thumb" posts with regards to so many inches per gallon, after using several calculators it came up with around 85 inches of fish, lets say that I stock male guppies only, after some research they grow to about 2" so according to the calculator I can stock 40 ish guppies. That cant be right for the size of my tank surely? I know common sense comes into this and 40 guppies in my tank would surely be way to crowded.

So if someone could offer a more sensible answer, I really very worried about overstocking the tank.

I understand to begin with to start small and add more fish as the tank matures which is totally fine, I want to try and build up a stocking plan for the next few months so I get it right from the start and not make any mistakes which will cause harm to the fish.