Aquarium cycling questions !!! HELP

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

randombeginner

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hey Guys! , So Im a beginner to the whole aquarium hobby about an year or so , so I heard recently about cycling and stuff. So now I have started cycling my tank .
And have some questions regarding this.
1. Where do the bacteria live exactly

2. will changing water affect my cycle , will it crash it

3.will changing my decor and customising my tank affect th cycle or disrupt in anyway , if this does , will I have to cycle it from the beginning

4.will rinsing my decor crash the cycle

5. What the ways of speeding up cycling

6.Does mixing the gravel up and water changing kill the bacteria

7.Does adding new fish affect the cycle

Pls help me out guys , I love fish and the whole hobby so I want to improve my self. Thanks guys

Your beneficial bacteria live almost entirely in your filter pad or media. Its why you should NEVER change it unless it's falling apart and even then you would need to add a new pad in with the old one for a few weeks. Doing water changes and general cleaning shouldn't effect your cycle other than if you have an unstirred sand substrate. If this is the case disturbing it could cause toxins from anaerobic bacteria to be released and start a mini cycle. Adding more or new fish while cycling will create a larger bio load meaning it will take longer to cycle and could cause deadly amounts of ammonia to build up.

Sini's my personal bucket lugger..er, I mean husband

Also there is no real accepted way to speed up a cycle significantly, turning up your temperature or adding seeded material is your best options. It's one of those things you just have to wait for. Products that claim to be basically "cycle in a bottle" rarely work. If its not refrigerated don't buy it