Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-09-2014, 05:42 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
JessiNoel21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Springfield,MA
Posts: 646
Betta substrate

What can I use in a betta tank? I know it is a dumb question but it's been awhile since I owned a betta and seeing my 5 gallon is empty cause all my ADFs are in my 20Long community and doing great. I'll like to use the 5 for a betta. Ty
__________________

__________________
JessiNoel21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2014, 07:30 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
shellyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: scotland
Posts: 4,298
I've used both gravel and sand when I had my bettas but definitely preferred sand.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________

__________________
70 gallon elephant nose tank, Gonzo the elephant nose and friends!
30gallon borara merah and brigittae green, red longfin bristlenose, shrimp, ninja, taiwan,bamboo, and snails. [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
shellyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2014, 01:46 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Hummingguppy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: In the land of potatoes. otherwise known as Idaho.
Posts: 83
Betta's are very adaptive, but it is best to take into account their natural habitat. In the wild, betta's usually live in large rice paddies. The substrate there (dirt) is dark. So, in choosing your betta tank, is is best to go for a darker sand or gravel. You could even do a dirted tank, but those have always been a bit too messy for me.
__________________
Hummingguppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2014, 05:41 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 112
I use black fine gravel, don't like sand, find it hard to clean.
__________________
NewToFish1989 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2014, 10:59 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Musicfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Holt, MI
Posts: 143
I have black sand in mine. My betta seems to like it, really you can use whatever you like.
__________________
75G and 10G
Musicfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2014, 02:45 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
JessiNoel21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Springfield,MA
Posts: 646
Can I used Lighthouse play sand as a substrate?


iPhone 5s has taking over lol
__________________
JessiNoel21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2014, 10:15 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 50
I have play sand in my betta tank. Just wash it good.
__________________
Magic mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2014, 10:31 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dcutl002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Smithfield, Va.
Posts: 1,327
Quote:
Originally Posted by JessiNoel21 View Post
What can I use in a betta tank? I know it is a dumb question but it's been awhile since I owned a betta and seeing my 5 gallon is empty cause all my ADFs are in my 20Long community and doing great. I'll like to use the 5 for a betta. Ty
I use sand now, but I have used gravel before with no ill effects. I have some floating plants also and he seems to like that.
dcutl002 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2014, 10:51 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
JessiNoel21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Springfield,MA
Posts: 646
I am thinking gravel but I like sand to so we will see I am still waiting for the betta to arrive so hopefully by this weekend . He will be here and I can set up his tank. I have the filter in my 20 so it stays cycled .


iPhone 5s has taking over lol
__________________

__________________
JessiNoel21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ate, betta, substrate

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
substrate or no substrate fishydave Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 2 06-27-2013 06:19 PM
Fertiliser Substrate under gravel substrate mwe_ch Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 3 08-07-2010 06:44 PM
Cleaning Substrate When Substrate is Fully Covered in Plants beauxarts Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 5 07-08-2010 11:26 PM
2questions1post, Refugium lighting substrate/Tank Substrate divemasterjim Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 04-23-2006 07:46 PM
Substrate and substrate cleaning questions Kilgore Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 6 04-17-2006 05:29 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.