cory cat substrate

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

yuanyichi

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
is this gravel to sharp for small cories?

Attachments

• 1417476208079.jpg
    1417476208079.jpg
    159.2 KB · Views: 79
I have about the same grade gravel, that was a mistake. If I were you, I would get sand because they love to half bury themselves in it to look for food. Get sand my friend. I am changing soon too

alright but how would i change the gravel if i have fish in right now...sorry im a newbie :/

Sent from my LG-D415 using Aquarium Advice mobile app

Scoop it out with a big fish net. Make sure you support the net when removing it from the water.

You can pre wash the sand so that when you are ready to make the switch, all you have to do is put the fish in a bucket, drain the tank, add the sand, fill it up and then put the fish back in. Sounds like a lot of work, but it's not that bad. Most of your time an energy will be spent washing sand. If it's not cleaned well enough it can cause cloudy water so once you think it's clean, give it one more wash.

another vote for sand.
i have a dozen of corys and they sure do love digging. and i sure love watching them dig :) its quite a view seeing entire herd lining up and combing through the sand spitting it out of their gills, stopping on occasion to chew on something tasty they found.

prewash playsand (home depot) or pool filter sand in a bucket. then again and again. helps doing smaller batches at a time. when you scoop it out and put in tank your water will get quite cloudy - it is not a problem. things will settle down within a day or two. you might observe bubbling first couple of weeks as trapped air escapes, that is quite ok too.

but beware, vacuuming substrate is very different with sand (i have planted tanks so i don't bother vacuuming to much)