Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-07-2014, 10:21 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
ddiienno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 94
Cycling tank

I've had my new 30 gal up and running for about 9 days now I moved the filter media from my old tank to the new one and have been hitting it with QuickStart. I don't show any ammonia or nitrites ph is 7 and my nitrates are about 10. I don't want to jump the gun and put the fish in too soon and then have to do daily water changes until it's fully cycled. How long should I wait?
__________________

__________________
ddiienno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2014, 10:44 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Closetcanibal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: des moines iowa
Posts: 161
From my personal experience, you shouldn't be doing any water changes until you have seen the ammonia spike then nitrite then once it's nitrate then start the water changes. That's eh way I have always done it. Quick start is just chemicals. I use frozen cocktail shrimp from store.


Fish are people too!!!
__________________

__________________
Closetcanibal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2014, 10:59 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
ddiienno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 94
So I should just get some cocktail shrimp and put it in the tank to get it going?
__________________
ddiienno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2014, 12:43 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Closetcanibal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: des moines iowa
Posts: 161
That is what I would do. That way you aren't adding unnecessary chemicals to the water.


Fish are people too!!!
__________________
Closetcanibal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2014, 12:44 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Closetcanibal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: des moines iowa
Posts: 161
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1404794618.833658.jpg
Views:	72
Size:	170.8 KB
ID:	242481

Here is my tank currently cycling


Fish are people too!!!
__________________
Closetcanibal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2014, 02:13 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 121
I recently finished a fishless cycle on a 6 gallon betta tank, using seeded media from my main tank and some seachem stability to help it along.

Still took 14 days. Much better than 6 weeks of course. But throughout I saw the fall of ammonia from my starting doses, the rise of nitrites, the rise of nitrates and then the final cycle when ammo and nitrites fell to zero within 24 hours of ammonia dosing.

If you tested daily you should have seen something. If its already cycled, you will have zeros within 24 hours of dosing ammonia. Its an easy test to check.
__________________
Britty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2014, 07:54 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BBradbury's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 4,318
Your Tank

Quote:
Originally Posted by ddiienno View Post
I've had my new 30 gal up and running for about 9 days now I moved the filter media from my old tank to the new one and have been hitting it with QuickStart. I don't show any ammonia or nitrites ph is 7 and my nitrates are about 10. I don't want to jump the gun and put the fish in too soon and then have to do daily water changes until it's fully cycled. How long should I wait?
Hello dd...

If you moved all the filter media from an established tank the same size or larger than this 30 gallon, the new tank cycles instantly. If you just moved a part of the media, then you can still have fish in the new tank. Just add them slowly, so the good bacteria can keep up with wastes the fish produce. You should test the tank water every few days to make sure the chemistry is stable. If you have a trace of ammonia or nitrite, then remove half the tank water and replace it with pure treated tap water. You'll need to change this amount of water weekly once the tank is fully stocked to maintain safe water conditions.

B
__________________
"Fear not, my young apprentice. Just change the tank water."
BBradbury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2014, 08:47 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
ddiienno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 94
Thanks guys!
__________________

__________________
ddiienno is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycling, cycling tank, tan, tank

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Confused on cycling (not cycling) DrHockey Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 03-22-2014 06:28 PM
The big debate: Fish-less cycling VS Fish-in cycling! trickshot3102 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 9 01-02-2014 09:43 AM
Going to fish-in cycling from fish-less cycling Aqualady40 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 21 10-25-2012 11:17 PM
do water changes delay cycling? will it make cycling LONGER? Bubble_Boy Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 3 10-09-2004 12:17 PM
Confused About Cycling--Am I re-cycling? Why? hummingbird114 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 9 08-13-2004 05:09 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.