DISCUS EXPERTS : What do you use for RO water?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

janky

Aquarium Advice Freak
How do you prepare RO water for your tank changes? Any DIY setups? Recommended brands?

I'm turning up very little on craigslist, and most of the shopping results I've found on google are in the $200 range. Plus I'm a noob to all of this, so once they go outside of my basic biology knowledge and get all technical I'm pretty lost.

Advice?

Not a Discus expert, but I have been looking into Saltwater for a long time and never got around it. RO will remove the majority of contaminates, minerals, and ions from water. DI or Deionized will polish it off and make it pure. If you need RO, the best thing you can do is purchase a unit off of the net. For what you would pay from a store or Pet shop, the purchase will pay off in the long run. One thing you can do is get a 30 or 50 gallon Rubbermaid trash can to store water. Make it up in the can and get a cheap power head to keep it circulated. Also, you can add a heater and it will ready to go when needed since you will have it made up and ready to go.

That's actually a really good idea... I'd love to do that, but we are in an apartment with the tank in our living room and I'm sure my girlfriend would not be wild about having a giant barrel or garbage can for water reserve :lol:

The RO filters basically hook onto your faucet to clear out your tap water right? So just as you'd pour a glass to drink, you'd be using the same filtered water to do your water changes?

(sorry if this is really a dumb question, but like I said, I'm new... researching the best I can!:D)