Fishless Cycling questions.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

fishiefishiefishie

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi All,

I have gotten back into the hobby after many many years being away. So I'm currently doing a Fishless Cycle for a 55 gallon tank a friend got for me. It is my first time doing a Fishless cycle and I'm currently stuck. Tank has been cycling for about 10 Days now. I had initially dosed ammonia from Ace Hardware to about 6ppm. Little high by accident. But I had also seeded it with a lot of gravel, decorations, fake plants and even the filter bag and media from a established 10 and 20 gallon tank I still have running. I am currently experiencing 2 issues.

1) When I tested for Nitrites today with the API test kit. The resulting color is Grey-ish?? Not even a shade or blue or purple.. just grey. Which doesn't even show on the color board. I thought maybe it was the test bottle had gone bad.. so I tested it against my other tanks and tap water. All came out just fine. Anyone experienced this? Or know what could have caused it?

2) I noticed my PH has dropped from like 7.8 to 6.6. How can I get it back up? I read that using the PH-Up stuff isn't a good idea? Any advice is appreciated. Or if anyone knows what is currently going on with my tank's cycle.

As for readings.

Yesterday.
Ammonia 5
Nitrites 5
Nitrates 40

Today
Ammonia 4
Nitrites...Grey???
Nitrates 30

Thanks in advance!!!
K

1) Try retesting it. Maybe it had to do with the solution.

2) not sure sorry, I'll let an expert answer this

:welcome: to AA!

1...Not sure why this has happend, ive never seen it do grey. What test kit are you using? Maybe it will change as it converts to trates and it will show a different color. If not you can always change some of the water test and re dose ammonia.