Hello! I am a complete beginner and nervous about getting my first fish. Advice?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

AnnaKP

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I have a 10 Gallon tank.
Current setup is a power filter, some fake plants, a small fake cave, overhead light, and a bubbler.
It has been running with no fish for two days now, and the PH is at about 7.2.

My first worry is that my heater isn't working (It was from when my parents first bought the tank- about ten years ago). Is it completely necessary to have a heater, or should I buy a new one? The temperature of my tank seems to be staying within a 76-78 Fahrenheit range on it's own.

My second worry is the cycling. I haven't formally cycled my tank. I'm using a product called "Stability" by Seachem, which says it is for "rapid and safe establishment of bio-filter". Does anyone know from experience if it does the trick? If you are not familiar with the product, it says to add in a small amount each day for a week, and fish can be safely introduced at any time during this period. Does this mean I don't have to cycle or am I misinterpreting it?
Naturally I am very wary of depending on this product, especially since I don't know much about fish, so I would like some feedback.

My final concern is the fish! I was hoping to buy them today, but I will hold off if necessary.
I was thinking of buying a male dwarf gourami, 2 cherry barbs (one male and one female, maybe?), and hopefully a ghost shrimp.
Eventually, I would hope to get another male dwarf gourami, as well as 2 more cherry barbs (two females).
Does this sound like a good combination of fish for my tank?

I don't necessarily have my heart set on this particular combination of fish. I'm open for alternative suggestions. What combination of beginner fish would you recommend for my tank?

I apologize for the very "newbish" questions...