Just bought a 10G tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

peter121612

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello all, I have been reading these posts and it seems like you have quite a community here.....I just bought a 10 g tank with a clip-on heatre and a??150 filter....

I am new to this (brand new in fact) but with the reading i have done so far i understand that i need to cycle through the water and let it adjust. I also added a packet of cycle starter to get it going....

My question is this. right now i dont have anything besides gravel in the tank. I want to give my future friends something to play around in and was curious about the pro's and con's of live vs. fake plant life....

Would also love to recieve any suggestions on a good group of starter fish...I am thinking of a small school, a bottom feeder, and the a single or mated pair of mid-level guys....Maybe too many fish...PLease help, much appreciated

Look around for some information on this site about Bio-Spira by Marineland. It basically cycles your tank perfectly in 24 hours. I'm still skeptical but I'm going to go buy some and try it today. With Bio-Spira (from my understanding) you load up your tank with a full fish load, dump in the product, and there ya go. Sounds too good to be true but people here have used it and they KNOW what they're doing.

As far as plants go, plastic ones are nice cause they don't grow (or die), fish don't eat them and they look ok. Real plants are great cause they help with maintaining water quality, preventing algae, and provide food for some fish. They're also more work than having fakes. Good luck!

Ryan

There's something about having live plants that I really like. I had a few die on me, and it was frustrating, but the ones that I have alive now are great. They do require pruning and some attention, but I enjoy doing this.