Lost In the World of fishless cycling...I'll take all the help I can get!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

katfish25

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi all,

I'm a novice at this so please forgive me!

Info:
The tanks have been set up for about 4 weeks. I have two 5.5 gallon tanks with heaters set at 80 degrees (originally set at 83) & corner filters. I am planning on getting bettas for the tanks.

The tap water was treated with prime & sat for a couple days before adding ammonia. Added ammonia, tested 2 weeks later & it was 2 PPM. Add more ammonia & tested another week later on 7/6/16 & it was 4 ppm, nitrites was 0 & nitrates were 5 ppm.

I thought my ammonia was to high at 4ppm so I did about a 40% water change, waited 24 hrs, tested the water & my ammonia level did not drop. It's still at 4ppm. pH (regular) = 7.6, pH (high) = 8.0, nitrites = 0, nitrates = 20

I also tested my tap water (which I never did in the beginning) after letting it sit out for 24 hrs. The result are exactly the same as the tank (see above paragraph).

I tested pH & high range pH because both readings were 7.6 & I thought it might be higher since that's where the API kit maxes out. So now with both results which do I go by?

So for my next step do I do another water change & re-test again in 24 hrs? I've added ammonia twice but I never tested my tap water previously. Would there have been enough ammonia in my tap water without adding more?

Basically my questions are:
1. Do I do another water change & re-test in 24 hrs?
2. Which pH reading do I go by?
3. ...or do I just start over again?
3b. What are the chances my test kit is bad? It says it expires in 2021.

I'm thoroughly confused at this point!

Thanks so much for your advice!

Basically my questions are:

1. Do I do another water change & re-test in 24 hrs?

2. Which pH reading do I go by?