My tank won't start cycling HELP!!!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

BayouBoy

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Im new to this site, but I have a 56 gallon aquarium that I'm starting over and decided to do a fishless cycle since I heard that it was faster. I went and bought Ace hardware brand which is concentrated at 10% and has no additives or surfactants. This is my first time doing a fishless cycle and would like to know am I doing everything correctly. I set up everything correctly , filled tank and added enough ammonia to get the ppm up to 4, after 7 days of not getting a nitrite spike or reading, I lowered the ammonia ppm from 4 to 2 in hopes of jump starting the cycle. It has been 9 days since I first put in the ammonia and everywhere I have read say I should be seeing some type of nitrite movement by now. My readings were: Ammonia-2ppm, Nitrite-0 and Nitrates-0. I then went and got some Bio-Spira added to the tank, and now I'm really confused. I have Ammonia-2ppm, Nitrite-0, and Nitrates-10-20. Im using an API mater test kit and very lost right now, my PH is between 7 and 7.2, my temperature is at 86 degrees, and is have my Fluval U4 underwater filter acting a powerhead with another Aquaclear 50 powerhead agitating the surface for oxygen along with an air pump. Any help will be greatly appreciated and will answer any questions you have.

Welcome to the forum.

It can take 4-6 weeks to cycle a tank. You merely lost your patience too soon in. Adding the Bio-Spora didn't help your case at all. Lowering the ammonia dose from 4 to 2 didn't help your case at all. You can't rush cycling a tank. You want it to be done right.

I would suggest you do a 50% water change and then continue with the ammonia until you are cycled.