New to forum and planted tanks!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

kheta111

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello Aquarium Advice members! I was just hoping for some feedback, comments, or suggestions on my aquarium situation and set up seeing as how I am brand new to the hobby...

About a month ago I put together a planted tank from various Kijiji deals (Canadian craigslist). The tank is a 37 gallon tall (30"x12"x22") with a submersible heater, Penguin 200 bio wheel filter (running 2 cartridges), 24" t5x4 + moonlight LEDX2 light hood by Odyssea running standard plant bulbs(resting directly on the glass lid). The tank is moderately planted with a variety of species. some Val, Anubias, Rotala, Ludwigia etc. The hard scape is red Lava rock and dark brown Fluorite substrate. The tank is currently stocked with 2 dwarf Plecos, 2 Albino Corys, 3 Siamese algae eaters, 3 turquoise Rainbows, 2 dwarf Gourami, 2 large-ish Angels, 2 dwarf Puffers, and 5 Apistogramma Cocautoides; 4 female 1 male. I feed the tank a healthy pinch of flakes twice a day and half a cube of bloodworms once a day. I also use an overdose of flourish excel 2 caps a day, to battle a recent algae flare up ( hair and beard).

The tank seems for the most part peaceful though the cichlids fins are getting chomped by something I can't tell if they're doing it to each other or those sneaky little puffers are doing it. That being said I started out with 3 puffers but I found one dead 2 days after adding them, possible cichlid attack?

I was hoping someone could share their thoughts and insights on the this sort of set up. Should I add this or take away that etc. Thanks in advance!

Hello Aquarium Advice members! I was just hoping for some feedback, comments, or suggestions on my aquarium situation and set up seeing as how I am brand new to the hobby...